Amish Friendship Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Yum! I love the tang the starter adds! It is like a quick bread, but with a more grown-up flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is the best Amish Friendship bread and it is because it has the pudding! Our recipe says to use any flavor pudding you want and i know people who have used banana, pistachio etc. and you can substitute the nuts, dates and raisins for other dried fruit like cherries. and our recipe says that you can add a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and or a cup of coconut. the possibilities are endless. I want to try this with the 1/2 cup of applesauce, ours has a whole cup of oil instead and i like this idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made this yesterday, WOW. My first time ever making this kind of bread. My sister had overnighted me a starter from across to country, 11 days ago. I did not use apples, nuts or raisins. I did however mix up 2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 cup sugar in a little bowl, sprinkled half of it in two greased loaf pans before pouring in the batter, and sprinkled the remaining sugar/cinnamon over the tops of the unbaked loaves. DELICIOUS and super easy to make. Baked exactly 1 hour and they were done perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My sister-in-law was leaving on a trip the day before making the bread so gave me the starter. I knew I wouldn't have time for another 5 days so I fed it. Her's was in a zippy bag so it was easy to keep. I was at a loss and left the bag open, didn't want an accidental explosion. By the time I was ready, the mixture was VERY sour-smelling but figured I'd try anyway. Also had to use Butterscotch pudding mix. I wasn't sure how much starter to use so I guessed at 1 1/2 cups. Well... it WORKED!!! Very tasty, not sour, not too sweet. I'm quite amazed. The recipe I got didn't use applesauce and "extras" so I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The last time I made this I used lemon pudding and added some frozen blueberries. I baked it in a bundt-like pan, and when it was done I drizzled a lemon glaze over it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
One of the yummier Friendship Bread recipes :) I left out the walnuts due to an allergy. I halved the recipe, and for the fruit I filled up one cup with a mixture of sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, raisins and dates. There was fruit in every bite this way. Really good toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this today and it was delicious. I used 1cup of unsweetened applesauce and omitted the oil. It was perfect. Very moist. The kids didn't notice any difference between this and the full fat version. Next round I'm going to use 1c of whole wheat flour and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Fantastic! My daughter, Alyssa, gave this to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
What a wonderful blend of flavors and very moist. I even had to improvise with the pudding mix. I used vanilla and lemon (sugar free), added more walnuts and used craisins in lieu of raisins just because that was what I had in the pantry. It is definitely going to be a keeper in my recipe book. (junebug)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was a hit at work. Next time I think I will try lemon pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States