Amish Friendship Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Caramel Apple Friendship Bread - Here's something I did different I did to it today. Using this original recipe as the base, I added chopped apples, pecans, apple pie spice to the mix. Baked in 2 8x4 pans for about 60 mins. When cool I poured a Caramel Glaze over the top of it. On the starter recipe link on the recipe and it says at the bottom you can freeze this starter. I always do and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
This recipe is great if you use triple berry mix pureed to replace the oil in this recipe and I have also used peaches It is really good with orange dream pudding and pureed mandarin oranges.I was making 12-14 loaves a week of the different flavors I was making use your imagination you'll be really suprized at how it changes the flavor and brings them running. I couldn't make it fast enough!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This was my first try at Amish Friendship bread. I used the starter found on this site. Bread came out great. I used a cup of applesauce instead of going half and half with the oil, used Splenda in place of the sugar, and sugar-free vanilla pudding. Even with the lightening up, it came out very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2001
Taste great. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup flour, add apple and omitted raisin and walnut. It's still soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I just love making Amish friendship bread, I have been doing it for years. I was always bothered with the instant pudding mix in the ingredients, so I made a substitution this last time. I replaced it with two mashed, ripe bananas, and threw in a few pinches of extra flour in fear that the batter would be too wet. I also use all organic and natural ingredients as much as possible to make it a little healthier. The bread came out fantastic with the bananas in place of the pudding, very moist and delicious. Everyone I gave some too loved it as well. Next time I will try using apples as I saw some people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
my son likes this bread andi can add or subtract ingredients to his liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
I used Dole's Cinna-raisins and added a chopped apple. Most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
very good, my family ate it all up in two days. I sprinkled the pan with sugar and cinnimon before I poured in the batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was extremely sweet. We much prefer the ordinary Amish friendship bread recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this today and it was delicious. I used 1cup of unsweetened applesauce and omitted the oil. It was perfect. Very moist. The kids didn't notice any difference between this and the full fat version. Next round I'm going to use 1c of whole wheat flour and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States