Amish Friendship Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My sister-in-law was leaving on a trip the day before making the bread so gave me the starter. I knew I wouldn't have time for another 5 days so I fed it. Her's was in a zippy bag so it was easy to keep. I was at a loss and left the bag open, didn't want an accidental explosion. By the time I was ready, the mixture was VERY sour-smelling but figured I'd try anyway. Also had to use Butterscotch pudding mix. I wasn't sure how much starter to use so I guessed at 1 1/2 cups. Well... it WORKED!!! Very tasty, not sour, not too sweet. I'm quite amazed. The recipe I got didn't use applesauce and "extras" so I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The last time I made this I used lemon pudding and added some frozen blueberries. I baked it in a bundt-like pan, and when it was done I drizzled a lemon glaze over it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
One of the yummier Friendship Bread recipes :) I left out the walnuts due to an allergy. I halved the recipe, and for the fruit I filled up one cup with a mixture of sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, raisins and dates. There was fruit in every bite this way. Really good toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this today and it was delicious. I used 1cup of unsweetened applesauce and omitted the oil. It was perfect. Very moist. The kids didn't notice any difference between this and the full fat version. Next round I'm going to use 1c of whole wheat flour and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Fantastic! My daughter, Alyssa, gave this to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
What a wonderful blend of flavors and very moist. I even had to improvise with the pudding mix. I used vanilla and lemon (sugar free), added more walnuts and used craisins in lieu of raisins just because that was what I had in the pantry. It is definitely going to be a keeper in my recipe book. (junebug)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was a hit at work. Next time I think I will try lemon pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I love this recipe. It is so easy to make and the results are fabulous. I really like the versatility. You can make lots of different varieties of bread just by changing out some of the ingredients. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandyLogan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is soo good. Pumpkin chocolate chip I omited the applesauce and added 3/4 cup pumpkin, used 1/2 wheat flour,1/2 white flour. 1tsp. cinnamon,1/2 tsp ginger,1/4 tsp ground cloves, didn't used walnuts instead pecans. The best pumpkin bread I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
A co-worker brought this from home with the starter bags so I took one home, and tried it out. It's a very versatile bread, you can add anything to it, and will still come out good. The best thing is, since I work 55-60 hrs a week, the fact that day 10 just happened to fall on the weekend was awesome, so now I have 2 loaves baking in the oven right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States