Amish Friendship Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I have been makeing this bread for over 30 years. You can make so many versions and flavors..I bake mine in the little mini loaf pans and give to all my neighbors and friends at church..I never have any left over starter, cause I just keep it going all winter long..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made as stated above except used all oil and skipped the apple sauce. Mostly just because I didn't have any. I also replaced the walnuts with macadamias and it was okay. I mean it was good but nothing out of this world. Well the weekend rolled around and my hunny wanted French toast and we were out of regular bread so I cut this up and made French toast and let me tell you it was out of this world. I baked another batch of bread just so I can make French toast again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Really liked this bread. I had to use a mix of white and brown sugar since I ran out of white, but it still turned out ok. I added craisins and pineapple for my fruits. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Doing the starter process and making this bread with my kids sure brought back a lot of memories of me doing the same thing with my mom. This bread is just as good as I remember it, and my kids and I are keeping the starter going so we can continue to enjoy this bread as well as the many other varieties that you can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Great moist Bread! This was my first time to make amish friendship bread! It turned out really good but I think next time I will experiment with other flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by futurevet2727

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is an awesome recipe everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I didn't care for this version. It didn't cook through properly and was very heavy. I didn't mind the taste, but again because it never really cooked all the way through it was hard to tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Yum! I love the tang the starter adds! It is like a quick bread, but with a more grown-up flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is the best Amish Friendship bread and it is because it has the pudding! Our recipe says to use any flavor pudding you want and i know people who have used banana, pistachio etc. and you can substitute the nuts, dates and raisins for other dried fruit like cherries. and our recipe says that you can add a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and or a cup of coconut. the possibilities are endless. I want to try this with the 1/2 cup of applesauce, ours has a whole cup of oil instead and i like this idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made this yesterday, WOW. My first time ever making this kind of bread. My sister had overnighted me a starter from across to country, 11 days ago. I did not use apples, nuts or raisins. I did however mix up 2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 cup sugar in a little bowl, sprinkled half of it in two greased loaf pans before pouring in the batter, and sprinkled the remaining sugar/cinnamon over the tops of the unbaked loaves. DELICIOUS and super easy to make. Baked exactly 1 hour and they were done perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States