Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
When this recipe says to do two loaves, DO NOT TRY TO MAKE ONE BIG ONE!! I though that there wasn't very much batter so I went ahead and just made one loaf. It took forever and was just one step away from being burnt. If I had not realized what I did and turned the temperature down, I would have lost the bread. (Would definately have been a disaster considering I had to wait 10 days for this) All and all a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Just like my mom made when I was a kid. Now my kids can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I was glad to find this recipe without the pudding. I did make some changes and my bread has been excellent every time. I use 3/4 cup oil, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar and add 1/2 cup milk, orange juice or lemon juice. If I make cinnamon raisin bread, I add 1/2 c. milk and 1/2 cup raisins and increase cinnamon to 1 T. If I make blueberry bread, I add 1/2 cup lemon juice, 1/2 cup blueberries and omit the cinnamon. And finally, for cranberry bread I use 1/2 cup chopped cranberries, 1/2 cup orange juice, 1/3 cup chopped walnuts and 1 tsp. cinnamon. I've gotten wonderful reviews from everyone I've shared the bread with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLEAM
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I'm glad I found this recipe. My co-worker gave me some starter but the recipe that came with it called for instant pudding as well as sugar and I thought that was a bit much (especially since there was so much sugar in the started). For my bread I used 1 cup white flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup oil, 1/3 cup apple sauce, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup splenda and then I added about 2 cups chopped apple. I am really happy how it turned out! I had to add a little bit of milk because the batter was on the dry side, so the next time I'll use 1 cup white flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLEAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
My recipe called for pudding mix too, and it makes the bread very moist. I have made numerous breads and have changed the pans too. I've used muffin cups and made mini-breads (great for kids); cooking time is about 30-40 minutes and a bundt cake pan (ours is the flexible rubber) and the baking time was a little more than an hour, which is great for get togethers and parties. Everything freezes very well. Some people have frozen the dough, but I'm not too sure how that would work, since you are stopping the "process". I too, have used chocolate pudding mix, chocolate chips and nuts for a more chocolatey bread and it is yummy! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This bread tastes like an average muffin. My bread was done in about 20 minutes, not the suggested 50! It was a bit dry, and it was lacking something- maybe it would be good with chopped apples in it? My kids gobbled it up! But then again, they like anything sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I used 2 tablespoons of cinnamon... and I dusted the bottom and sides w/ cinnamon sugar... and I used a large package of vanilla pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriSteelMagnolia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I am still experimenting with the Amish starter but I tweaked this recipe and made it an herbed dinner bread. I used 1 cup of starter. I needed to reduce the calories so I reduced the oil to 1/2 and added 1 cup of milk. I used 1/2 cup Splenda. I left out the any pudding, the vanilla and cinnamon. Instead I added 1 cup of chopped onions and 1 tablespoon each of dried basil and oregano and 1/2 teaspoon of dill. I added the salt, soda and powder. I poured in the 2 loaf pans and then put about 1/4 cup of shreaded cheese in each and stirred it just a bit to mix. I then baked for 50 minutes @ 325. It did flatten a bit but it was wonderful. It was a filling herb cake-like bread. Served with homemade chicken soup. Tasty and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This bread was WONDERFUL! A friend of mine's mom made this bread 15 yrs ago (I was 10) and I loved it and always vowed to make it. I used the started from the other page and it came out EXACTLY as I remember it. I am so happy. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Replace the oil with applesauce and it makes it more moist and less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States