Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I hate to burst bubbles, but after several cycles of making this recipe, I got suspicious of what the starter was actually adding to the mix. So I just completed two loafs: one with 1/2 c. starter and one exactly the same without the starter. the breads came out virtually the same!!!! I was hoping the starter would add a tang or ? but there was no taste difference and we actually preferred the texture without the starter, it was a bit moister?!? So I'm afraid I will omit the starter in the future....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
840 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My boss gave me a list of his variations. In each one, he adds a box of pudding mix (whatever flavor you choose). It makes the bread very moist, and it stays moist for days. Our favorites include: add 1 cup of craisins (dried cranberries), 1 cup of walnuts, and 1 box of vanilla pudding. Another includes: 1 smashed banana, 1 cup of walnuts, and 1 box of banana cream pudding. Yet another is 1 cup white chocolate chips, 1 cup macadamia nuts (chopped), and 1 box of white chocolate pudding. YUM!!! These are always big hits, and are great for the holidays! I'll warn you though, you may think you've done something wrong when you mix these in on day 10, because the batter is more the consistancy of cake batter than of bread dough, but it's OK, it bakes up just like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
731 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I love experimenting and trying all kinds of combinations. Because I'm so frugal and couldn't find enough friends to keep giving starter to, I now only "feed" 1/4 cup of each ingredient, make 2 loaves at the end of 10 days and then have just enough starter in my zip bag to continue without wasting any. Still works perfectly. By the way, a favorite is pistacio pudding & chopped pistatios!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I have been making amish bread for years. I tried this recipe and it turned out terrible. First of all it calls for twice as much flour as my old recipe and 1 less egg. I guess with 2 cups of flour instead of 1 it made this so heavy. I promise if you will change this recipe to 1 cup self rising flour, add 1 more egg, 1/3 cup more oil and increase cinnamon and vanilla to 2 tsp., also add 1 small box of vanilla pudding - you will get rave reviews. I will add my recipe to this catagory for all to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I used this recipe as a base for a healthier, whole wheat bread. I used two cups whole wheat flour instead of white, substituted 1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce and 1/3 cup oil for the 2/3 cup oil, and upped the cinnamon to 2 tsp. I also added 1 chopped granny smith apple and 1 cup nut/dried fruit mix.I replaced half of the sugar with Splenda and baked in mini loaf pans for 40 minutes. Delicious and healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I have made this bread for years and love it. I add a little allspice and nutmeg to the recipe. Also I freeze any leftover starters that I don't give away. That way, it I have a taste for the bread, I always have a starter waiting for me in the freezer. Also, the fresh baked bread make wonderful gifts, especially to new neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lansing, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
I was given a started by a friend. Since then I have been experimenting. After the pans are greased, I coat them with sugar/cinnamon mixture. (Like you do with flour for cake pans.)I have used chocolate pudding and mini chocolate chips. Awesome - like cake brownies. I have also used the vanilla pudding and added chopped apples and raisins. But my favorite to date is adding in a bag of cinnamon chips and sprinkling some of the sugar/cinnamon on top also. YUM! Next batch I am going to make some orange flavored sugar to coat the pans with and put ing cranberries and some orange peel. Also want to try adding rhubarb as soon as my rhubarb is ready. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I had not had any of this bread since the early 90's,till a friend gave me a starter recently. The bread was just as I remembered--delicious!! My family always liked it cooked with a can of pie filling so that's what they asked for this time. I made 9 loaves using all of the starter except 1 cup. 3 were apple and pecan sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar, 3 were cherry and the last 3 were something I hadn't tried before-peach. I don't know what was better, the bread or sharing the day with my granddaughter cooking the loaves. She took 1 of each flavor home with her. What a great day we had making new memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
The only problem is that once you start you can't quit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
My mom has been making this bread for some time now...I guarantee this is a hit EVERY TIME. I have to bake and bring more than one loaf every time because it is devoured immediately (sometimes, within minutes). Great fresh out of the oven or cooled. And it is fun to play around with it...you favorite nut is a nice touch. I have yet to hear someone turn this one down!! It's great!! If you like any sort of cinnamon strudle/coffe cake, you'll love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States