Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
I had been looking for this recipe and was surprised to see it here. Thank you very much for printing it. I've enjoyed sharing this bread with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
I WAS GLAD TO SEE THIS RECIPE AS IVE BEEN LOOKING FOR IT, I WAS JUST WONDERING WHEN YOU HAVE MADE THE STARTER SET THAT IS DAY 1?AND THAT YOUR JUST STARTING IT RIGHT?SO ITS NOT BAKED THE SAME DAY AND I REMEMBER THAT I ADDED VANILLA INSTANT PUDDING THE DAY OF BAKING HAVE YOUR HEARD OF THIS AND I GUESS IF YOU WANT TO ADD ANYTHING THE DAY OF COOKING YOU CAN?THANKS AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
I was given a starter batch to make this delicious bread a few years back. I never knew how to start the "starter" again. Thank you for sharing this with all of us. My family and friends can't wait to taste this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
Very tasty bread. I am on a low fat diet and this was easy to ,ake lower in fat and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
The only problem is that once you start you can't quit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
I was given a started by a friend. Since then I have been experimenting. After the pans are greased, I coat them with sugar/cinnamon mixture. (Like you do with flour for cake pans.)I have used chocolate pudding and mini chocolate chips. Awesome - like cake brownies. I have also used the vanilla pudding and added chopped apples and raisins. But my favorite to date is adding in a bag of cinnamon chips and sprinkling some of the sugar/cinnamon on top also. YUM! Next batch I am going to make some orange flavored sugar to coat the pans with and put ing cranberries and some orange peel. Also want to try adding rhubarb as soon as my rhubarb is ready. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
I have tried this recipe several times and reall think it is great. It is a real shame that more people don't take time out of their busy schedule to do this sort of thing. More people should get involved in this friendship thing. I love it. Bj Edwards Chaparral,New Mexico
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I love experimenting and trying all kinds of combinations. Because I'm so frugal and couldn't find enough friends to keep giving starter to, I now only "feed" 1/4 cup of each ingredient, make 2 loaves at the end of 10 days and then have just enough starter in my zip bag to continue without wasting any. Still works perfectly. By the way, a favorite is pistacio pudding & chopped pistatios!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
My 12-year-old son and his friends consumed mass quantities of this bread! They said it was the best bread they'd ever eaten. Needless to say, I now try to keep some in the freezer for when kids come over. Also, I love it too. It is excellent with coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
i used to make this recipe when i was a kid and would share it with my family and friends it became and expected thing and it was always different you can add candies, chocolate chips, nuts there is always room for variation. i am glad that i finally found another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States