Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe was ok. Not the best bread I ever had. The baking time was not long enough so it was very brown on the outside and runny in the middle. Also it's very salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
So, so good. I took it out of the oven around the 40 min. mark and it was perfect. If anything, it is a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Great gift idea! I ran out of white sugar once on day 6 and substituted dark brown sugar. HIGHLY recommend it! Added tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I have made this bread for years and love it. I add a little allspice and nutmeg to the recipe. Also I freeze any leftover starters that I don't give away. That way, it I have a taste for the bread, I always have a starter waiting for me in the freezer. Also, the fresh baked bread make wonderful gifts, especially to new neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lansing, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
A friend gave me the starter and I am loving it. Unfortunately, I do not have enough people to give the starters to at the end of 10 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
My family LOVES it......Hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosenhayn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I tried this recipe twice. I took some advice from other reviews and cut the baking time to 35min and 345 degrees. It still seems a little dry but good. Definetly a little heavier than some breads. Next time I will probably add bananas or something to give it a little more moisture. I took it to work and it was gone! Good with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I think the 30 servings is way to many but the bread itself was yummy. More like a cake than a bread and definately not too cinnamony. I made it exactly as the recipe said and it was so nice and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmitchell80
Home Town: Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I had not had any of this bread since the early 90's,till a friend gave me a starter recently. The bread was just as I remembered--delicious!! My family always liked it cooked with a can of pie filling so that's what they asked for this time. I made 9 loaves using all of the starter except 1 cup. 3 were apple and pecan sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar, 3 were cherry and the last 3 were something I hadn't tried before-peach. I don't know what was better, the bread or sharing the day with my granddaughter cooking the loaves. She took 1 of each flavor home with her. What a great day we had making new memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States