Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This recipe is great! Much better than the one I was given. I make it healthy by substituting 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1 cup rolled oats for the 2 cups of white flour. I substitute all of the oil for unsweetened apple sauce and then bake in muffin tins at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. My whole family loves it and it's good for you (shhh don't tell).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Great! My husband loved it ... somehow 1st time I baked it I forgot to add the vanilla - still tasted great, Nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Afton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe is very easy to use and it tasted great. It does produce a more cake-like bread (think banana bread). It is a wonderful alternative to all the supposedly Amish recipes that call for instant pudding! I also tried substituting melted butter and adding a dash of nutmeg and that worked fine as well. I appreciate this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I love this bread and so do all of my friends and family, as they benefit from the starters. I find the vegetable oil taste to be overpowerings, so I substitute apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
The pudding-added version is going around our office building, and so far all are reporting good results. I, too, did multiple variations; very moist and lovely, but glad to know next time pudding alone can suffice! And to Brenda regarding the green bottom on what your mother baked--sounds like a chemical reaction between the batter and the pan (part of the reason some recipes say use non-metal bowls to mix) so to be safe I hope you threw it out! I did use non-stick metal pans and greased them, then used a dusting of SOMETHING, be it flour, sugar/cinnamon, cocoa, etc., and all worked out (8 loaves so far). But if you don't want to chance it, perhaps try glass/silicone, paper liners in a metal one, or disposable heavy paper "pans" next time? A friend did muffins instead of loaves, too, so if you use muffin papers that should do the trick. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I really liked this bread but when I passed it on to my mom and she made it, the bottom of the loaf was green when it came out of the oven. Anyone know why or if it's even safe to eat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
GREAT RECIPE. FUN TO DO WITH THE GRANDCHILDREN AND THEY GET TO TAKE "STARTER" HOME TO SHOW THEIR MOM HOW IT IS DONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I made this recipe two times and it came out dry. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Yummy! But submitter forgot the most important step; once pans are greased, carefully sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar mixture, and sprinkle more on top before baking! UPDATE: Made four mini loaves with this recipe, which took about 40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Yum - I love this recipe because there are so many different ways to make it. ONE NOTE: If you use 1 large box of instant pudding, or 2 small ones, you will not need to add any additional sugar. It is plenty sweet. I loved having raisins in ours & can't wait to try other's ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States