Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I've made this bread twice. The first time was with 1 package of cook and serve vanill at 350 for one hour. The bread browned too much and was very dry. The second time was with instant vanilla and 325 for a little over an hour. The texture is very much the same. Perhaps if I tried it without pudding? I'm just disappointed, because I tasted some friendship bread over Christmas and it was amazing and have been trying to recreate it, but no luck yet. I'll keep trying, though. That bread was worth it!-Edited almost a year later: I was given an actual friendship bread starter and the recipes are very similar. Mine just has an additional 1/4 cup oil and an added 1/2 cup milk--It came out WONDERFULLY!!! I also kept the starter in a plastic bag and let the air loose twice a day-maybe that helped with the fermenting. Whatever it was, the bread was just as I had remembered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brighteyes_22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I was given a starter with the recipe that includes instant pudding. I made that the first time and made this recipe the second because I prefer not to use packaged and processed food. This one tasted so much better! It was moist and cooked up evenly. My family ate one loaf before the hour was up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This just didnt work well for me, I dont know maybe it was my starter but I dont think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I make a bread just like this but with a small box of pudding..(any flavor will work). It always is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was great. I didn't use all of the cinnamon, because I didn't have enough, but it turned out great. I found that if you leave out the adding of a cup of flour, sugar and milk on day ten of the starter, you don't have extra to give to 2 people. There is enough for you to start a new one for yourself and enough to make bread that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This recipe is great, but it is even better if you add 1 box of vanilla pudding to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is a great starting point. But I needs stuff added to it. I normally throw in a cup of raisins and sprinkle brown sugar and cinnamon on top. When I follow the recipe to the letter, the bread comes out very dry. I am hoping that is because my starter is made with non-fat milk. I bought a 1/2 gallon of whole milk to experiment, so we will see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I thought this was a fine recipe. I'll bet that the previous posters who complained about dry bread, began with a dry starter. Mine had plenty of moisture in it and the bread turned out great! I also sugar coated the bottom of the pan when I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Since none of the AFB recipes on here are like mine, I'm rating it here since all that I added was 2 boxes of pudding. I also didn't measure out my starter, just used what was left after removing the 4 cups, but it looked more like 2 cups of starter than 1. It made 2 loaves, both rose wonderful. It took an hour to get them set in the middle. Absolutely delicious, especially after waiting so long to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Really easy to throw together while the other two Friendship Breads were baking. I cut back the flour to 1 1/4 c. and added one box of instant vanilla pudding (Grocery Outlet has them on sale right now three for a buck!) and added a little nutmeg. This recipe made one loaf. I won't be able to vouch for the taste, as this is a gift for someone else, but it smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States