Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My kids love this bread! I have to make 2 loaves a week!!! I add lots of cinnamon and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Made this today, as listed but added vanilla pudding. Made two wonderful loafs, just like my mother made in the 80's when they were all into "Herman" starters. We also made chocolate today with chocolate pudding and chips, which is also good but the original cinnamon is the best. I will keep my starter and do the cinnamon again next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTYSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
It was okay. It doesn't have much flavor and it didn't rise much. I wont use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
superb bread. However, since it takes so long to prepare the starter I just don't think I'd take the time to go through all of that again. I have made plenty of other breads, many from this site that are just as good and don't take 10 days to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennH
Photo by shar
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Very good recipe. I'm not sure exactly how much starter I used, but I know it was slightly more than a cup after I took out the portions to pass on to friends. I added 1 large box of instant pudding mix to my recipe (NOT the kind that you make on the stove!) And since I only have 1 good loaf pan I made it in m bundt pan. I mixed up 1/4 cup of sugar with 1 tsp of cinnamon and sprinkled that on top. Cook time in the larger pan was about 80 min. Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This variation was bland and dry. The only "modification" I made (if you could even call it that) was adding about 1/2 tsp. extra cinnamon. The bread was a real disappointment. I'm going back to the basic recipe that came with the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
my mom and i have been making this for years, BUT we add a box of french vanilla instant pudding to the mix as well. we also coat the pans after we spray them using a mix of cinnamon sugar. We also let it bake for like 10 minutes and then then sprinkle more cinnamon sugar on it for a little extra sweetness in the crust. we made it for my brother's graduation party ahead of time adn froze it for a few days. came out of the freezer totally unscathed. people will devour it and it's also great for breakfast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This bread was so good! My good friend gave me the starter and I made this and was very happy with the results! Very good bread. Kind of like a banana bread but with out the bananas. Good toasted with butter and honey. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this and it disappeared the same day! That was only 4 people eating it! Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very upset with this bread. After spending the past 10 days getting ready to make it, I was confused by the recipe (the starter says to pull out 3 cups of mix and use the rest, but the directions say to only use 1 cup of mix), it only filled 1 pan, and the sides/top burnt (I mean BURNT to black) and the inside was still runny. Will not use this again. I hope to try the starter with one of the other recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States