Amish Friendship Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I loved this bread. It was very moist and flavor full. I made it just as it was written, next time I think I will add just a little cinnamon to the batter. I will definitely use this recipe again when I have the starter. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedgewickville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Everyone loved this and it's my favourite way to use the starter, mainly because most of the other recipes have pudding mix in them. I confess to making a change. Because I ran out of white sugar, I substituted 1/2 cup of brown sugar. This was moist, kept very well, and baked nicely in my longer (13 inch) loaf pans. I will be making it again in 10 days when I have more starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I've made this over and over and it never fails to get compliments. I make no changes. TIP: I made this today into a pumpkin loaf. I used mashed pumpkin in place of the banana and added cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg and ginger. Turned out beautifully. It'll make a nice Christmas loaf for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This bread turned out perfectly. It even work at our very high elevation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This recipe has good flavor. It's great and definately moist. I baked it at 300 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes. I never seem to get the middle done without burning the outside if I bake at the higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I started making this bread a year ago, and it is a hit with family and friends. I substituted the 4 bananas with 2 boxes of Jello instant banana pudding; it's incredibly moist and there's a great banana taste! Instead of shortening, I used 1 cup of oil. I utilized this same recipe for pumpkin bread, applesauce bread, and cranberry bread; makes great gifts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I love this recipe! My family got tired of the cinnamon friendship bread, so I was looking for other ways to use it. This worked GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
my mom made it wen i was visitig her so i just had to gt the recipe for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
The best banana bread I've ever made...great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I took this to work and shared with them, this very moist bread. They thought that it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States