Amish Friendship Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I tryed it as is and then the next time I changed it some. I used 2 bananas 1 8oz can crushed pineapple drained and 1 6 oz jar maraschino cherry drained and diced. It was a great Hawiian version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was my second. The first was the cinnamon one and this one kinda combined, which was gone in two days. I still have this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Awesome ! I used the recipe as written . Is very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
this was fabulous!!! my favorite use for the amish friendship starter! i don't care for nuts so i left them out, and used butter flavored crisco just because its what i had. so moist and delicious! a major hit at the picnic i brought a loaf to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made muffins instead of loaves, used paper baking cups to prevent them from touching the metal pan and baked them between 25-30 mins, yielded 2.5 dozen! they were very moist - perhaps too moist, but they were technically done, but next time I may bake for a few mins longer. In my opinion these needed more banana flavor (i used 4 overripe bananas), and some spice to the batter. next time i will alter the recipe to better suit my tastes. they just tasted like semi-plain sweet muffins with only a hint of banana. on some of them i made a crumb topping (from another recipe on this site, Banana Crumb Muffins). I liked them with the crumb topping and they gave them a pretty look. Hubby took them to work this morning and they went over so-so (by comparison, I made regular cinnamon friendship bread for them and I heard raves all day long) I probably will make these again but tweak the recipe alot. I will say that I really liked this recipe because it used 2 cups of Friendship Bread starter - not only did it make the muffins puff up alot and look really cute, but it got rid of 2 bags of starter so i didnt have to find as many "friends"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Everyone loved this and it's my favourite way to use the starter, mainly because most of the other recipes have pudding mix in them. I confess to making a change. Because I ran out of white sugar, I substituted 1/2 cup of brown sugar. This was moist, kept very well, and baked nicely in my longer (13 inch) loaf pans. I will be making it again in 10 days when I have more starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I loved this bread. It was very moist and flavor full. I made it just as it was written, next time I think I will add just a little cinnamon to the batter. I will definitely use this recipe again when I have the starter. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedgewickville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I've made this over and over and it never fails to get compliments. I make no changes. TIP: I made this today into a pumpkin loaf. I used mashed pumpkin in place of the banana and added cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg and ginger. Turned out beautifully. It'll make a nice Christmas loaf for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This bread turned out perfectly. It even work at our very high elevation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
The best banana bread I've ever made...great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States