Amish Friendship Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I've made this over and over and it never fails to get compliments. I make no changes. TIP: I made this today into a pumpkin loaf. I used mashed pumpkin in place of the banana and added cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg and ginger. Turned out beautifully. It'll make a nice Christmas loaf for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I tryed it as is and then the next time I changed it some. I used 2 bananas 1 8oz can crushed pineapple drained and 1 6 oz jar maraschino cherry drained and diced. It was a great Hawiian version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made muffins instead of loaves, used paper baking cups to prevent them from touching the metal pan and baked them between 25-30 mins, yielded 2.5 dozen! they were very moist - perhaps too moist, but they were technically done, but next time I may bake for a few mins longer. In my opinion these needed more banana flavor (i used 4 overripe bananas), and some spice to the batter. next time i will alter the recipe to better suit my tastes. they just tasted like semi-plain sweet muffins with only a hint of banana. on some of them i made a crumb topping (from another recipe on this site, Banana Crumb Muffins). I liked them with the crumb topping and they gave them a pretty look. Hubby took them to work this morning and they went over so-so (by comparison, I made regular cinnamon friendship bread for them and I heard raves all day long) I probably will make these again but tweak the recipe alot. I will say that I really liked this recipe because it used 2 cups of Friendship Bread starter - not only did it make the muffins puff up alot and look really cute, but it got rid of 2 bags of starter so i didnt have to find as many "friends"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
this was fabulous!!! my favorite use for the amish friendship starter! i don't care for nuts so i left them out, and used butter flavored crisco just because its what i had. so moist and delicious! a major hit at the picnic i brought a loaf to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I started making this bread a year ago, and it is a hit with family and friends. I substituted the 4 bananas with 2 boxes of Jello instant banana pudding; it's incredibly moist and there's a great banana taste! Instead of shortening, I used 1 cup of oil. I utilized this same recipe for pumpkin bread, applesauce bread, and cranberry bread; makes great gifts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Everyone loved this and it's my favourite way to use the starter, mainly because most of the other recipes have pudding mix in them. I confess to making a change. Because I ran out of white sugar, I substituted 1/2 cup of brown sugar. This was moist, kept very well, and baked nicely in my longer (13 inch) loaf pans. I will be making it again in 10 days when I have more starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Awesome ! I used the recipe as written . Is very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jesse Lynn Fuller
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This recipe is now the only recipe for banana bread that we will ever use. My family loved this bread so much that the boxed brand banana bread I made two days ago is now being passed up. This bread is very moist. I only made one loaf and changed the recipe a bit. 1 cup starter, 2 ripe bananas, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp salt and 1 cup flour. Didn't have any walnuts so I didn't add them. I also added a little cinnamon and a very small pinch of nutmeg. It came out very nicely. Will be making again for years to come. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Lynn Fuller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I loved this bread. It was very moist and flavor full. I made it just as it was written, next time I think I will add just a little cinnamon to the batter. I will definitely use this recipe again when I have the starter. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedgewickville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe as-is a few times and it is excellent. I've also used it as a basis for experimentation. I've found that if my starter isn't yet fully active, it works wonderfully by simply mixing all ingredients except b.p., b.s., salt...and letting it rest in a bowl for a few hours. Then stir in the other ingredients and bake. It seemed to allow the various fruits I've used to macerate and the resulting flavors/aromas are intoxicating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaybird61176

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahanoy City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States