Amish Friendship Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great- but made a substitution. I thought this recipe was wonderful. I read that some people felt that the banana flavor wasn't as much as they would have liked, so I added another half of banana and added half a package of vanilla instant pudding. I also subbed 1/4 of the shortening for 1/4C of butter. Lastly I sprinkled some sugar on top. It came out REALLY good. I think this will be my new go to recipe for banana bread. Note I also needed to cook it an extra 10 minutes and could have probably cooked it another 5-10 minutes, but it was still reall good and cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristin De Mers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My family LOVES this bread. I make the banana bread every cycle and the loaves are gone by the end of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Tried this recipe today and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Conrad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
A little to sweet tasting for me next time will only add half cup sugar to mixture. Otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very very good bread! I forgot the last step in the 10 day process before splitting up the starter and just started making bread, but all of the bread batches I made still turned out great and I froze more than half of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Our new favorite banana bread! Using the friendship starter always produces such moist, flavorful loaves of bread, and this one is no different. I did cut this recipe in half, so I only had to use 1 cup of the starter. I also used 2 full eggs, and added in a small package of dry banana pudding mix. Most other friendship bread recipes that I have made call for vanilla pudding, so I decided to add the pudding, and banana just seemed to be the right choice for this bread. It was a huge success. I now have the starter going with several in the freezer because of how much we enjoy this particular bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma0f4
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This recipe is now the only recipe for banana bread that we will ever use. My family loved this bread so much that the boxed brand banana bread I made two days ago is now being passed up. This bread is very moist. I only made one loaf and changed the recipe a bit. 1 cup starter, 2 ripe bananas, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp salt and 1 cup flour. Didn't have any walnuts so I didn't add them. I also added a little cinnamon and a very small pinch of nutmeg. It came out very nicely. Will be making again for years to come. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma0f4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe as-is a few times and it is excellent. I've also used it as a basis for experimentation. I've found that if my starter isn't yet fully active, it works wonderfully by simply mixing all ingredients except b.p., b.s., salt...and letting it rest in a bowl for a few hours. Then stir in the other ingredients and bake. It seemed to allow the various fruits I've used to macerate and the resulting flavors/aromas are intoxicating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaybird61176

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahanoy City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Love it! Excellent banana flavor. I left out the walnuts, next time I might cut down just a hair on the sugar. Otherwise, change nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
my mom made it wen i was visitig her so i just had to gt the recipe for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States