Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I made this recipe for Christmas & everyone just loved the cookies. I also put a homemade frosting on top of them & they were even better... Mix about 1 1/2 sticks of soften butter & about 3 cups of powdered sugar until creamy. Add a 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of vanilla & stir in some milk, about 1-3 tbs until desired texture. The frosting should taste creamy not powdery. Happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
AWFUL good! We also put a hershey kiss in the middle prior to baking! Those were good and even better when we unwrapped the Hershey Kiss first on the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This is a great recipe, it is easy and makes a lot of cookies. This is like a butter cookie but not as delicate. I made them for a party and they were a big hit. I will make them again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I was SO prepared to give these a lacklustre review. "Unadorned," they are flat tasting and not sweet enough. My suggestions were to be to add more vanilla, upped at least to a tsp., a little salt, maybe a 1/2 tsp., to make the flavors come alive, and maybe even a little more sugar. They are tender and soft, with the characteristic light texture I've come to know that the combination of powdered sugar, oil and cream of tartar provide. I was going to be generous and give them three stars - but as is I really didn't think they were even THAT good. But then I frosted them. What a difference a little sweetness made, especially creamy, buttery sweetness! In fact, I would say this cookie is not only better frosted, it is the *perfect* cookie to frost! For the same reasons I had ambivalent feelings about them before they were frosted, are why I loved this cookie frosted, tho' I still would add a litte salt. In addition to these being the perfect "utensil" for "Butter Icing for Cookies," also from this site, they are simply gorgeous as well. The dough is quite soft (almost greasy, actually) so I chilled it for an hour or so before shaping it into cookies. I used a medium cookie scoop and flattened them slightly before baking. Perfectly shaped when they went into the oven, they were perfectly shaped when they came out of the oven as well. With spring fever in full tow, after frosting I sprinkled them with pastel sugars. These are just awesome 5-star good - WITH the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Great to do w/kids, very tender and yummy! -considering Dad we used only ¾ C on white sugar and 6 oz of veg. oil they turned out just perfect =-) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great cookie recipe! Reminds me of pecan sandies w/out the pecans. My mother stopped by & said these were the best cookies. She doesn't even care for cookies. I had to use butter flavored Crisco b/c I didn't have any butter. It still turned out great though! My mother & I will both be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These are fantastic! Buttery and not too sweet. Was a hit with the family - mostly the women. The men preferred the sweeter cookies I baked. Excellent addition for a 'holiday variety'. Keep the baking time to the bare minimum so as to keep them soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
I thought these cookies were good and very quick to put together and cook. I decided to add a lime glaze over the top and they were terrific. I took them to work and everyone went crazy for them, even the men asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
they taste very soft and buttery and are quickly made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
These cookies melt in your mouth and are easy to mix up. They must be bad for you because they taste SO GOOD! People rave about the lightness and flavor, so this is a thumbs up recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States