Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I've made these cookies a lot for my school (i'm a kindergarten teacher) and it's really good and very easy to make. But i've always taken a fork dipped in sugar to flatten them a bit, and give them a nice shape, then i put sprinkles on them (depending on the season, the colors change). My students love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Schott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Felipe De Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Did not like at all. All I could taste was flour. My gram said they tasted greasy. Not a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
tried this recipe tonight, and they came out wonderful, for a soft sugar cookie, not greasy...I also rolled half of them in cinnamon and sugar before baking and they make a killer snickerdoodle!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
My kids love these!!!!! Very easy pantry recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
A mix between a sugar cookie and a butter cookie, kind of crumbly but not too much. Not the greatest thing to look at but sure beats ALL the sugar cookie recipes I have made from this site.Tastes somewhat like Mantecaditos a yummy cookie from PR. I will try shaping them like mantecaditos and adding non pareils on top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Understaed taste, good tecture, not really fancy enough for company. But great for kids! Really liked this - and I refrigerated half the dough for 2 days, and it was fine, and I got tons of cookies out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Typical Midwest flavor - Bland. Adding flavoring will really help and lets you make a big tray of multiple cookies for one dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
These were good, but not spectacular. They were very easy, my 7 year old girl made them "herself", and she loved them. To me they seem as if they are missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I love these! I've made them several times and each time I made ome modification. One time I added 1 cup chocolate rice. The other time I use 3 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa, 1/4 cup vanilla flavoured malt and 1/4 tapioca flour instead of 4 1/2 cup flour. The texture is still the same and the taste improved a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I added lemon zest (1 tsp or more to taste) to half the batter, sprinkled sugar on top before baking. Added 1/4 tsp almond extract plus the sugar to the last half, really added to the flavor. I've never had any trouble getting rid of these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burns, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States