Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These cookies are tasty but the picture is very misleading. They do not come out looking anything like the picture. The picture makes them look like they would be a chewy cookie but they aren't at all they are more like a shortbread type of cookie. I actually made two batches of the dough because I thought maybe I did something wrong the first time. Very frustrating. The family loved them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made a few adaptations to these cookies. I used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup oil, mostly because I had never used oil in cookie before and was nervous. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice to the dough. I rolled my cookies in cinnamon sugar before baking. I liked that these cookies were light, not too sweet and not too rich. My husband wasn't a fan, but I ate these cookies six at a time! Which means I probably won't be making them again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandyce78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manawa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Added a dash or two of pumpkin pie spice and rolled into balls and coated with cinnamon and sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is an amazing "sugar cookie" recipe! I'm not proud of it, but I'm a huge cookie dough eater and this one is SO good. It stays soft enough to scoop after refrigeration, making it perfect to cook a quick batch, or eat a spoonful! hehe. And it always gets tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2many

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I've been baking these cookies for years. They have never failed me. My recipe includes 1 tsp of salt, although I use only 1/2 tsp. I also press the cookies with a fork and sprinkle with sugar or sugar/cinnamon mix. I replace 1/3 to 1/2 of the sugars with Splenda without affecting the texture. And they're still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have baked these cookies alot since i found it and i enjoy making them but my family enjoys eating them. I even made cut outs with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Crisp, lighter than shortbread cookies. Great with add ons (spices, choc. chips, jam...) A huge hit at my house! Best hot out of the oven but good for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
These cookies were delicious. They were very light and fluffy from the powdered sugar, and not at all greasy like I expected from the 1 C. vegetable oil. I rolled the cookies in cinnamon-sugar prior to baking, and also added an extra 1/2 tsp. vanilla to the dough. The cookies hardened after a day or so, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themerrymaid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I make these all the time and there are never any left! One thing I do to help 'sweeten' them up is roll them in sugar mixed with cinnamon to make snicker-doodles. They are excellent this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I have been baking forever and do this for a living...Not very good at all my kids would not even eat them!!!I made them to take to a school play for a cast party needless to say they were just horrible!!!I am from Wisconsin and they taste nothing like amish cookies!!! very BLAH!!!Will not make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States