Amish Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
excellent coleslaw as I like it without without mayonnaise." much too oily will cut back next time and a little less splenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Delicious! Used blue agave since I didn't have any Splenda in the house. (Just halved the listed amounts since its sweeter and I didn't want too sweet) Also, heeded the advice about the oil and halved it. Love the spicy flavors of celery seed and mustard with the vinegar and sweetness. Winner!! Will try again adding green pepper and carrot and further reducing sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
\The receipe is solid, but waaay too sweet for me. Also, the oil is a bit much. All that said, the taste (when adjusted) is great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Don't know any Amish the uses Artificial sugar :0 but all try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My mother is of Amish descent & made a similar slaw. But, she used water in place of the oil. It was much better that way. The oily taste just isn't right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great with a couple of tweaks. Reduce oil to 1/3 cup and pour the HOT dressing over the vegis and then chill for a crisper result. Very good and the Splenda worked great with this! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I made a half batch. I used Xylitol granules (natural sweetener)- only half a teaspoon- instead of the Splenda and the dry mustard... and only 1/4 cup of Extra Virgin Cold-pressed olive oil and still found the slaw too oily. But otherwise this was a VERY nice slaw. I also used apple cider vinegar with the mother and added a little bit of chopped mint- about half a teaspoon. I think it would be great with wine vinegar, teriyaki sauce and a broccoli slaw mix, too, with some sliced almonds chicken and sesame seeds for texture and proteins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CinnSareLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Nice flavor, but a bit too oily for me. Served it at a family gathering & people didn't really take any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
It was a very good recipe. The only change I made was that I used half the amount of splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very simple, yet delicious. I used 1/2 t. dry mustard in lieu of prepared mustard and it worked as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States