Amish Cinnamon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is awesome with a few addjustments. I used 1/2 cup oil 1/2 cup applesauce. 1/2 cup white sugar 1/2 cup brown sugar added dried cranberries and chopped dates. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Let me preface this review by saying that this was my first try at making a friendship bread. My daughter's preschool teacher gave me the starter and recipe. After waiting 10 days to bake and finally taste the hyped-up product, I was very disppointed! The bread wasn't necessarily bad (it had a nice texture, moist inside and slightly crispy on the outside),but it definitely wasn't worth the long wait, effort and calories! I expected a WOW and it just didn't deliver. The taste was average. There are several similar recipes for Cinnamon Bread on this site that don't require a starter, and I would imagine they taste very similar without the wait. I mean this is nothing more than a "Quick Bread" recipe. And a quick bread recipe should be that - quick - and this recipe isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Followed recipe exact, I didn't like this bread. Very heavy & oily! Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T L Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This is a great recipe. I've always used a similar one that I received with my starter. To perfect this... mix together 1 tsp cinnamon and 2 tbsp sugar and sprinkle evenly over your three loaves before baking. You get a yummy crust as a result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Fewx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is a yearly tradition in our house - Many of my friends beg me for a started - I make it a bit different then the one listed here because I age my starter for a longer period than normal. Once the started is done - then the baking starts - this recipie is the best one - we stop at after the flour and add whatever we want into the loaf. Sometimes it is cherries or chocolate chips or coconut and cinnamon - or just cinnamon. We have even done mini marshmallows :) We have always just let the children pick the type of loaf they would like to eat or make this time. Very good and excellent tasting no matter what you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This bread was pretty good but was not what I looking for. This bread was a lot work and was just ok. I personally believe it deserves a "3", but I gave it a four because between my kids and the neighbor boy - they had an entire loaf gone within 30 minutes and because the boys were most interested in the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by MyHubbysWife
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This is kinda like the bread I had when I was little, its came out great a yummy! It tastes great. I always use LOTS of real vanilla in my baking and my loaves came out a little dark, but this is such a good recipe, I will make this again for sure! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyHubbysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I received this recipe from a friend. The problem that I had was her's wasn't very legible. I ended up doing a 10 day starter process and then another 5 days. That's when I came on and looked at Ginger's recipe. She makes it so clear with her step-by-step instructions. Very well written. The bread is awesome! I love the fact that you can use this recipe when you move into a new neighborhood to get to know everyone. Pass it out. I also plan on giving some loaves with Starter packs to teachers at my daughter's school. Ginger, you are a life saver. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce to cut down on fat but keep moisture, then I only made two loaves instead of three. The bread was perfect! I received rave reviews from everybody and they were asking for some of my starter on my next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This is really good. To cut the fat and the mentioned oily/dryness I replaced all the veggie oil with chunky applesause. Came out nice and moist and very tasty. Thanks Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States