Amish Cinnamon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I found this bread to be very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PGivens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Yum. I left out the nuts and fruit and added a bag of chocolate chips for more of a dessert bread. Also only used half the vanilla extract. Turned out good but I think I will try making only two loaves next time; they're kind of short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe. Added 1 cup of raisiand and walnuts and it wasw fabulous. My sin enjoyed. Eventhough my sis makes it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Meadow, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I like this recipe but I felt confined to make it every 10 days. Its good to know (from reading other member's comments) that you can freeze the starter as well as the loaves. I typically make this for co-workers. I find that making 24 muffins (or 36 as this recipe can make) is easier plus it only takes 30 minutes to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars because it is so easy (even though the starter is time consuming), and it tastes absolutely phenomenal! My loaves sank after I took them out of the oven and were very flat, but I'm sure that was something I did wrong. Great recipe! Will definitely keep this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I used starter on DAY 14 (4 days after feeding on Day 10) and it worked out great. I had so much starter I doubled the recipe, used 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce to cut the fat, and I used brown and white sugar mixed. Recipe doubled great. No fruit, and cooked at 325 for one hour. Kids LOVE it and froze 2 loaves. This recipe made 3 or 4 nice sized loaves (3 fat or 4 thinner loaves). I froze the rest of the starter for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kreativekuisine
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is one of my favorite breads. I've waited years to receive a starter again, so if you ever get one, be sure to put a starter in the freezer for a later time. I made my bread plain, without any fruits or nuts. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kreativekuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I can't make it stop. A friend gave me a starter bag a couple of months ago and every 10 days, I'm baking bread, like it or not. My friends and family are all capable of counting to 10 (suprised me with that skill) and every 10 days, I'm expected to make cinnamon bread. I don't normally add the fuit except for raisins and only bake 2 loaves. I bake them at 350 for exactly one hour. I sprinkle the bottoms and sides of the pans with cinnamon sugar and sprinkle the batter with the cinnamon sugar after filling the pans. I use extra fancy Vietnamese cinnamon and real vanilla. Sometimes, in addition to the cinnamon sugar sprinkle, I put a layer of chopped pecans on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I only add the raisins and bake in 8 x 4 pans for a chunkier bread. After greasing the pans, I also "flour" with a cinnamon/sugar mix and cover the tops of the bread with this mix as well; this gives the top a wonderfully sweet crunch. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's a favorite of my family's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
i have been making this for a short while now and would like to know if i can make it any sooner than the 10 days and still have the same end product. Can I add the first 3 ingredients and then go straight into cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States