Amish Cinnamon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2001
Not only is this some of the best tasting bread you'll ever have, -- but when done from a starter, it's a really fun recipe to use and to share with friends!! (Just give them one of the starters, and the printed out 10 day directions). If you want to, you can use heavy duty 1 gallon ziploc bags instead of glass containers, and then your friends just squeeze the bag several times each day instead of stirring the batter in a container. This is a very versatile recipe. You can change up the extra ingredients any way you want to. It's all good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
One variation of the recipe that I saw when I received a starter bag was to sprinkle 1 tsp cinnamon and 3 Tbs sugar on the bottom of the pans before you add the batter. It's so yummy! One of my friends also tried that with banana bread and said it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
The flavor is great, but I prefer to use two pans rather than three. I found that with two pans the bread was a little more moist. Three pans, it cooked more and almost became dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce to cut down on fat but keep moisture, then I only made two loaves instead of three. The bread was perfect! I received rave reviews from everybody and they were asking for some of my starter on my next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
this is a great bread! i made it exactly as directed, but w/o any fruit or nuts! it was so moist and yummy. not too cinnamon-y! i made the starter a few weeks ago and froze it in 1 cup baggies. now i can make this fast and ez bread whenever i feel like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
Moist and tasty bread. It was easy to make it lower in fat and it kept its same great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is a yearly tradition in our house - Many of my friends beg me for a started - I make it a bit different then the one listed here because I age my starter for a longer period than normal. Once the started is done - then the baking starts - this recipie is the best one - we stop at after the flour and add whatever we want into the loaf. Sometimes it is cherries or chocolate chips or coconut and cinnamon - or just cinnamon. We have even done mini marshmallows :) We have always just let the children pick the type of loaf they would like to eat or make this time. Very good and excellent tasting no matter what you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
This bread is dark and moist. Best heated up in the microwave put whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
The best Cinnamon i ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
DH liked it. Was too dry for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States