Amish Cinnamon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
MAde exactly as stated but skipped the apple as my loving hunny ate it out of the fridge. This is my favorite recipe to date to use the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I had a starter in the freezer that had been there over a year, (didn't even know if it would work) and couldn't find my recipe, and I found yours. I changed it a little, from memory from the lady who had given me starter. I left the starter out overnight to get it warm. I "floured" 2 pans instead of 3 with cinnamon/sugar mixture(after spraying with vegetable oil) and topped with same, added 3 XL eggs instead of 4 eggs, added 1 cup milk (I didn't have any fruits listed on hand & my husband won't eat nuts, so I left them out),1/2 tsp salt (for leavening), 1 tsp of vanilla since my vanilla is very strong. I was worried when it looked like batter when I put it in the 2 bread pans. Baked @ 350 for 50 minutes (my oven cooks low, not your instructions problem). Well, this friendship bread turned out better than any I've ever made. The 2nd batch, I left out the cinnamon, added 3 lg very ripe bananas,and simply forgot to put the pudding in (put bananas in the food processor with the milk). It was soooo good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
We made muffins with this recipe. Ridiculously good. Diced the apples very small. Baked 325, 20 minutes. Made 24 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
wonderful recipe! I omit the nuts and fruit and make a crumble for the top using butter and brown sugar. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I had lost my recipe and was glad to locate it again here. There are so many variations to this bread based on what flavor pudding mix you use. The trick here is... Are you ready? FREEZE your starter in small freezer bags in 1 cup portions - just remove a bag from the freezer & allow it to come to room temperature prior to use. Just be sure to perpetuate another set of starters before you use the last one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very good! I substituted 1/2 cup of oil for applesauce and used 2 loaf pans instead of 3. Wonderfully moist and loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Not as moist as I remember making in from previous bags given to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very good! I make this whenever I can. One thing I do that makes it even more yummy is to fill the loaf pan halfway with half the batter, than sprinkle cinnamon and sugar all over that, than fill the pan up with the rest of the batter, than top it with more cinnamon sugar....yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdeluco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Excellent Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States