Amish Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I've been making this recipe for years. I think the brown sugar in the meat mixture makes the dish. It's plain and simple, yet delicious. I do two things differently. One is add a chopped onion to the ground beef while I'm browning it. Two, I also prefer shredded cheddar cheese to the American cheese. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I made this recipe to use up some of my canned soups, and my husband loved it! He asks for it often. We like to double the meat/sauce mixture for a heartier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
The first time I made this recipe, I thought it was okay but not one that I would make again. However, it was one that seemed so promising, I decided to tinker with it to make it "mine." First of all, I added a can of diced tomatoes, drained, with diced green peppers and onions, and some grated carrot to the tomato soup and cooked it all with the hamburg. (This will make a lot, so I use the extra to make Spanish rice later on in the week....) I don't care for sliced American cheese particularly, so I used shredded cheddar. I think there is way too much sugar, so I cut that back to a couple of teaspoons (the carrot is a natural sweetner, anyway, so less sugar can be used). When I mixed the cream of chicken soup with the noddles, I also added additional shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream. Voila! We love, love, love this recipe, and it gets served frequently. Wonderful comfort food! Great reheated, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
When i made this the first time it was a "What do I have I can throw together?" kind of night. I never really follow recipes exactly and that night I made it that night with cream of potato instead of chicken. I also used regular macaroni noodles and most cheese. It was so fantastic my husband took it to work and his coworkers all asked abotu it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I have been making this recipe for about 20 years, we grew up with it. except instead of layering it we mix it all together on top the stove, just untill its hot. It cuts your cooking time in half. and we also like corn in it as well. It is so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
This recipe is awesome! I made it because it was freezeable for a friend on bedrest. It was so good, I had to make it for myself. It's simple, delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
OK, I did some changing to this. After starting I found out I didn't have egg noodles or a casserole dish. So, I cooked the hamburger with onions, italian seasoning, garlic, and red pepper shavings, one can of diced tomatoes drained, and about 2 cups of peas. I cooked elbows, added the chicken soup but instead of the oven I simmered all of the hamburger ingredients and then put the noodles on top covered and simmered medium heat with cheese slices on top for about 10 minutes. It was awesome. Whew hope you got all that. Sorry, I forgot to mention, I did all of this stuff listed in addition to the regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Le Roy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Made this dish exactly as is and we really enjoyed it. The tastes were different but blended together very well. This is an easy throw together dish and perfect for small children who are usually picky eaters. I am looking forward to having leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I thought this was very good! I used potato soup instead of chicken but I think either would be yummy. I will add more meat next time. I used shredded mild cheddar instead of american cheese. My family had second helpings! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Made this tonight and the only alterations I made was that I used spaghetti noodles cause its all I had, and I used shredded cheese. It was amazing and would have been just as good weather I did those things or not. Very very good, not sure why it has lower ratings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States