Amish Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I tried this recipe afer being encouraged by all the wonderfu reviews it received. I did cut the brown sugar in half, but otherwise followed the original instructions. Sadly, I ended up throwing it away. It was still way too sweet. I really hate wasting food like that, but it seriously tasted like a beefy dessert. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
As is, this recipe is kind of odd. It's not bad, just...well, odd. I think it was mostly the sweetness from the brown sugar. I should say that my kids ate it up. However, my husband and I both thought it needed some tweeking. I'd start by cutting the brown sugar by half. Then add a can of corn and maybe a can of diced tomatoes. I also think that Monterey Jack cheese would be better than American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly except 1) I added garlic to the beef as I was cooking it (because my husband and I love garlic!) and 2) rather than making layers, I mixed the beef and noodles together before topping it with grated cheddar cheese and putting it in the oven (I was too lazy and too hungry to spend time making layers!). I also only had it in the oven for about 20 minutes (everything was already pre-cooked, so the 35 minutes it called for seemed excessive)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
so good. so easy. no one ive made this for has disliked or not gone up for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I have been making this for years, except my recipe calls for 1/2 of a chopped medium onion and 8 oz velvetta ( I use more) instead of American cheese. I always get asked for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is made in our household at least once per month. My pickiest eater in the house just LOVES this! I have altered the recipe to 2 cans of each soup, and I use only one layer of Kraft 2% cheese slices (5) and then for the top layer, I shred medium cheddar. This is a lot les rich, and has become the family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I have been using this recipe for the last year.. It was good from original state a solid 3 for our family. We tweaked a few things to suit us better and now it is a solid 5 ! #1 Cut down brown sugar (still will be sweet) # 2 double both soups so it's not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I cut down on the brown sugar and also added some sour cream. I also used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
YUM! My family (including my picky children) LOVED this recipe! I did tweak it just a little according to previous reviews. I added chopped onions and corn to the beef and used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. I also used shredding cheddar cheese instead of American cheese slices. It fed three adults and two children with plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rgonza49
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I tried this recipe because I had everything on hand and it was really cheap. My husband liked it. I thought it was weird. Maybe with 1/2 the brown sugar and a lot more seasoning it would be better. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conchmom33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States