Amish Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
A good easy casserole that is kid friendly too. I thought the meat part was a little sweet, but no one else said anything. I think I would cut the sugar back then next time. Overall, the dish was a little dry so maybe more of the chicken soup next time? This was a huge hit with my husband. I also agreed it was worth a repeat here. I scaled this down to half and used a loaf pan and it came out great. I'm sure glad we tried this. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
A little sweet, makes me think of my homemade sloppy joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This recipe wasn't bad at all. It just didn't leave me or my husband wanting to have it for leftovers. If you don't have a big family, then I would suggest downsizing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This recipe seemed strange to me and it does have an odd combination of flavors, but for some reason, it has really become a comfort food for me. The meat layer is sweet (obviously since there is tomato soup and sugar), but it somehow goes really well with the heaviness of the noodles and the cheese. I used ground turkey (it's always my alternative to beef) and used cheddar cheese instead of American because I hate fake cheese. Other than that, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great recipe! My family loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My family of 7 includes some very picky eaters. The first time I made it everyone thought it was WAY to sweet. I had made it following the recipe exactly. the next time I made the casserole I omitted the brown sugar (I think the tomato soup is sweet enough for my taste) and added a teaspoon of vinegar with the tomato soup. It was very good. I got no complaints that dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Made this for my mom when she came for dinner one night. The kids and hubby didn't like it but she did so in the end a win for the person I was cooking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
We were disappinted in this dish. It was very dry and the cheese didn't melt. Also, didn't like the sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
My family absolutely loves this recipe! The only thing I do differently is that I use shredded cheddar instead of American cheese. My kids ask for me to make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I had to change a lot to fit what I had on hand. Used tomato sauce, cream of mushroom soup, elbows noodles, and fiesta shredded cheese. My husband, myself and our one year old son loved it!! Our 13 and 4 year old girls only took a couple bites...they are my hard to please ones :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States