Amish Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I cut down on the brown sugar and also added some sour cream. I also used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
YUM! My family (including my picky children) LOVED this recipe! I did tweak it just a little according to previous reviews. I added chopped onions and corn to the beef and used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. I also used shredding cheddar cheese instead of American cheese slices. It fed three adults and two children with plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rgonza49
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I tried this recipe because I had everything on hand and it was really cheap. My husband liked it. I thought it was weird. Maybe with 1/2 the brown sugar and a lot more seasoning it would be better. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conchmom33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
An absolute favorite! (The second time)I used cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken, grated cheddar, 1/2 the sugar, and mixed everything all together. Awesome. Even my kid who hates hamburger anything ATE IT ALL! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
My family really liked this receipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I only gave it a 4, not because there was anything wrong with the recipe, it just wasn't quite my favorite. I made the recipe as written, with the exception of adding about 2TBSP of sour cream in with the cream of mushroom, which made it more creamy. Oh, and I added Ritz cracker crumbs on top before baking. There was just something funny about the sweet tomato sauce to me, I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I thought this was good. My husband thought it was kinda bland. I think next time to add more flavor we are going to try to add taco seasoning. But this recipe is definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I love this recipe! But I prefer Barilla's Campanella pasta with this. Since I use a one pound box, I double up on the beef, sugar and soups! I bake it covered until the last 5 minutes! I do use the american cheese because it keeps it creamy and it always comes out moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is a good "starter" casserole recipe for, as others have said, building on. My husband agreed with most of the other reviews, it was too sweet for his taste. Personally, I wasn't bothered by it but I can also see how it would taste a little heartier with less sugar. The end result tasted like a less processed, healthier version of hamburger helper. When I make it again, I'll probably make the meat and the noodles and then just toss them together in the dish and bake as one big plain casserole with cheese on top. We used colby jack rather than american and it was really yummy, but you do need to use a lot. I agree with the other suggestions........more cream of chicken would make it creamier/tastier and I think next time I'll try adding onion to the meat and maybe tossing in some corn. All in all, a good easy starter casserole. A decent meal as is and a great recipe to build on later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSmarmyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This turned out pretty well and was very hearty. I only had elbow noodles, so I used those, but everything else was the same. It was a little on the sweet side for my taste, so I think next time I will decrease the brown sugar. Other than that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States