Amish Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I am only giving this a 3 which is the lowest of anything I have rated on here and I will explain why. The recipe was a bit unclear and maybe I am having a major off day. If I make it one more time and it works out I will gladly up my rating. The brown sugar seemed really strange too me and the way I read the recipe was mixing the tomatoe and chicken soup with the beef. Which now I know I read it wrong. I ended up just leaving it and added an extra can of Cr of Chik to the noodles...I only used 4 slices of cheese per layer which I also thought was a real hassle. Next time I try I think I will add some wocester sauce and just use cream of mushroom soup instead of the two others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Awsome, super easy dish! Have tried half-dozen variations on this theme, every one a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was ok. The kids loved it, so I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I tried this recipe afer being encouraged by all the wonderfu reviews it received. I did cut the brown sugar in half, but otherwise followed the original instructions. Sadly, I ended up throwing it away. It was still way too sweet. I really hate wasting food like that, but it seriously tasted like a beefy dessert. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
As is, this recipe is kind of odd. It's not bad, just...well, odd. I think it was mostly the sweetness from the brown sugar. I should say that my kids ate it up. However, my husband and I both thought it needed some tweeking. I'd start by cutting the brown sugar by half. Then add a can of corn and maybe a can of diced tomatoes. I also think that Monterey Jack cheese would be better than American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly except 1) I added garlic to the beef as I was cooking it (because my husband and I love garlic!) and 2) rather than making layers, I mixed the beef and noodles together before topping it with grated cheddar cheese and putting it in the oven (I was too lazy and too hungry to spend time making layers!). I also only had it in the oven for about 20 minutes (everything was already pre-cooked, so the 35 minutes it called for seemed excessive)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
so good. so easy. no one ive made this for has disliked or not gone up for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I have been making this for years, except my recipe calls for 1/2 of a chopped medium onion and 8 oz velvetta ( I use more) instead of American cheese. I always get asked for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is made in our household at least once per month. My pickiest eater in the house just LOVES this! I have altered the recipe to 2 cans of each soup, and I use only one layer of Kraft 2% cheese slices (5) and then for the top layer, I shred medium cheddar. This is a lot les rich, and has become the family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela James-Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I have been using this recipe for the last year.. It was good from original state a solid 3 for our family. We tweaked a few things to suit us better and now it is a solid 5 ! #1 Cut down brown sugar (still will be sweet) # 2 double both soups so it's not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States