Amish Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Excellent comfort food. I like to cook a half bag of frozen peas separately and scatter them over the top of the casserole once it is served. I usually add a can of diced tomatoes, and occasionally a can of black beans as well. It also works without the chicken soup, if you use a little butter or olive oil to keep the noodles from sticking to each other. Whole grain noodles are fine. It makes good leftovers, especially if you reheat them in a saucepan on the stove with a little water instead of using the microwave. We enjoy this dish regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was gross... my kids wouldn't eat it!!! I only ate it because that what I made for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was....fine, I guess. I wasn't wowed. Probably not making this one again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I cut out the sugar and used ground Italian sausage (Johnsonville) instead of ground beef. So good and the perfect comfort food for a cold day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
It was okay. I first made the meat as directed then tasted it. It was WAY too sweet! I had to add some onion powder more pepper salt and all spice. After adding a decent amount of spice and shredded cheddar cheese it turned out okay but I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stoverfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I like this casserole so much that I've added it to my favorite recipes cookbook that I will pass down to my daughter sometime. I usually substitute ground turkey, but I've made it several times with ground beef as well. I add onion and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies when I add the tomato soup. I like the combination of sweet with the kick from the green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
NO BUENO. My five year old loved it because it tasted like dessert but the grown ups not so much. I don't know if this is improvable by removing the brown sugar...probably would be to tart. Everybody likes different tastes and that what makes food good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This wasnt bad, just strange. I put in about half the sugar and it was still way too sweet. Like cheap sloppy joes. I think it would be better with a touch of mustard, onion and real cheddar cheese. You could even add beans to stretch it and punch up the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Enjoyed it but next time I will change it up a little needs more meat and add some french's onions in the layers and on top but it was cheap & easy and that's always good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
We love this recipe, making it again tonight. The first time I made this I forgot to put the cream of chicken soup on the noodle and it was sweet. The second time I made it, I did remember and it cut down the sweetness. We love it either way,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States