Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This is a GREAT recipe! I used a pound of sausage instead of bacon. I didn't have quite two cups of cheddar cheese, so I used a little extra swiss. It got rave reviews from my very picky husband! His parents also loved it, and have already asked for the recipe. My only complaint was the serving size. I served it as a main dish with biscuits on the size. It fed four, with a little left over. Could have fed five adults, no 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
673 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This will be our new favorite breakfast casserole recipe. We wanted something that didn't use bread or canned soup and this fit the bill. We did substitute bob evans zesty sausage for the bacon. Added tsp salt, garlic,and onion powder. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this the morning after Thanksgiving for family along with a banana nut loaf. Everyone raved about it. I did use Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage in place of the bacon, and it was not at all too spicy. I also added salt, pepper and onion powder as another reviewer suggested. It got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was fabulous. I made 2 casseroles for 6 people. I made one of the casseroles bacon & the other sausage. The bacon one was gone first. Though the sausage one was delicious, the bacon one was clearly the hit. Everyone enjoyed a second helping. I believe it is the cottage cheese & swiss cheese that make this recipe. I followed the recipe perfectly. I made no changes to the ingredients, however, I did broil the casseroles for 5 minutes at the end of the baking cycle to brown the top. The next morning when my guests awoke, I said lets go to breakfast...but they requested we have leftover breakfast casserole instead! There was plenty leftover to feed everyone again & it reheated beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
496 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have a breakfast casserole but decided to try a new one. This was soooo delicious that it is now our family's new favorite. I too used sausage instead of bacon, but next time I'll try the bacon. I also took it to a ladies gathering and heard many great compliments. It's truly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this on Thanksgiving morning for my out of town guests and everybody was begging for the recipe. I used the breakfast sausage instead of the bacon and it was so terrific that I keep craving it. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
The egg mix was flavorful but nothing special. Unfortunately, the potato base was boring and bland. I don't think I could recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I made this recipe for a bridal shower brunch and it was a huge success. Can this receipe can be made ahead and frozen until needed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
We served this over Thanksgiving. Even my picky eaters wanted seconds, it was so delicious! We think the bacon and onion combination made it special. The family was disappointed I didn't make enough for thirds!!! Needless to say, we are serving it again over Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I omitted the onions and added 1/2 tsp each garlic powder and onion powder,layed and extra 1 1/2 C of hasbrown on the bottom and poured the egg mixture over the extra layer of hasbrown,sprinkled montery jack cheese on top. My kids loved it and they are very picky eaters! Will become a family breakfast favorite!Best breakfast casserole i have tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States