Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made a test run on this recipe before company came for Christmas. It was good, but I wasn't as big a fan of that much Swiss cheese. So for Christmas I used 3/4 cup Swiss and 2 1/2 cups cheddar cheese and added green pepper for extra flavor. Everyone raved about it! It was sooo good. One thing I also did differently the second time is fry the bacon in strips and then crumble. The first time the pieces wouldn't fry completely and were stacked on top of each other, so they turned out half crisp, half soggy. It worked much better to cook them in strips and then fry the onion in a little bit of the grease afterwords.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2670 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I often hesitate to make some of these breakfast casseroles because they are so heavy and make me want to crawl back into the bed and go back to sleep. This casserole tasted delicious and didn't make me sleepy. I think because it doesnt have refined starchy things in it. I am very happy to have this recipe. I freeze little individual containers of it to have all week long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
785 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This is a GREAT recipe! I used a pound of sausage instead of bacon. I didn't have quite two cups of cheddar cheese, so I used a little extra swiss. It got rave reviews from my very picky husband! His parents also loved it, and have already asked for the recipe. My only complaint was the serving size. I served it as a main dish with biscuits on the size. It fed four, with a little left over. Could have fed five adults, no 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
673 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was fabulous. I made 2 casseroles for 6 people. I made one of the casseroles bacon & the other sausage. The bacon one was gone first. Though the sausage one was delicious, the bacon one was clearly the hit. Everyone enjoyed a second helping. I believe it is the cottage cheese & swiss cheese that make this recipe. I followed the recipe perfectly. I made no changes to the ingredients, however, I did broil the casseroles for 5 minutes at the end of the baking cycle to brown the top. The next morning when my guests awoke, I said lets go to breakfast...but they requested we have leftover breakfast casserole instead! There was plenty leftover to feed everyone again & it reheated beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
497 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is the first time I have ever rated a recipe and it is only because this recipe was so good. This has been the breakfast cassorole that I have been looking for over the years. I do not know if it is the swiss cheese and the cottage cheese combo or what but it is wonderful. I did vary it a little just because of my own taste. I used southern style potatoes and seasoned them not only with salt and pepper but also with a little cayenne pepper and garlic salt. I also added one more egg just to extended the recipe a little further and the last item I changed is instead of bacon, I used sausage. The changes I made really reflect my own taste. Again this was the best breakfast recipe I have ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I love how easy it is! I made it for guests and it got a lot of great comments. The swiss cheese really adds a nice taste to the dish. My son doesn't really care for straight egg frittatas but really enjoyed this one with the added potatoes and asks for it a lot now. I wanted to make it more often yet didn't really want to keep frozen hash browns as a staple in my house. I found out that using a couple cold baked potatoes from a previous meal and grating them (this is very easy when they are cold - I even leave the skins on them!), works even better than the frozen ones! I just plan to make a couple extra baked potatoes the day before I make this for breakfast. We also use pre-cooked turkey bacon in place of the regular bacon and it turns out great. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I was a little scared of the cottage cheese - almost did not add it. I'm glad I did. This is super moist and very good. I used moz. cheese instead of the swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I made this recipe for a bridal shower brunch and it was a huge success. Can this receipe can be made ahead and frozen until needed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This is it! This is the breakfast casserole I've been looking for! I made it exactly according to the recipe, and it is perfect. I always prefer to add salt and pepper when eating, as opposed to when cooking, so I didn't find it bland (but it did need the salt & pepper). I can see how easy it would be to customize this according to personal tastes. I will probably never make any other breakfast casserole again...Why mess with perfection? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This will be our new favorite breakfast casserole recipe. We wanted something that didn't use bread or canned soup and this fit the bill. We did substitute bob evans zesty sausage for the bacon. Added tsp salt, garlic,and onion powder. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States