Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Didn't have bacon so I substituted 1# of sausage cooked with the onion. I used a full doz eggs and a 32 oz pkg of shredded hash browns. I increased the cottage cheese to two cups, but used the original measurements for the other cheeses. Delish & filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Everyone enjoyed this casserole. I followed some of the other's advice and cut the bacon first. I found it took a long time to get crispy that way though, atleast for me. Next time maybe I will cook the bacon ahead of time to give it time to cool before crumbling. I also put the hashbrowns in the bottom first then put the mixture on top. I think I may actually prefer it mixed in though, as the recipe states. I only gave it 4 stars b/c I would like a bit more flavor. Perhaps some peppers added would do that. Otherwise a good easy and relatively quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Love this! I used fat free cottage cheese and low fat cheddar to try and feel a bit better while eating it. I added green peppers and green onions for a big of color. I also used 9 eggs (to try and use up a carton.) I'm going to try freezing it in breakfast sized portions for those quick mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I took this to my sunday school class and everyone loved it. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was really good! I did follow some reviews and added 12 eggs. It was so much better with more eggs. I also used Southwest Style hashbrowns. It has onions, green peppers and red peppers....made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very, very good. I followed the recipe as written and it was devoured my the men in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FaFaFooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this for a group of teenagers who stayed the night following a dance. We all loved it. This is my new breakfast casserole for all gatherings. I made it with the following changes: added sweet peppers (next time I think I will add jalapeños as we like spicy). Also, I used the frozen country style hash browns and a package measured 5 cups instead of 4 so I added one more egg. Wasn't sure how it would come out, but it was perfect. Thank you for a perfect recipe, my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Wonderful dish! I used the recipe Bacon For A Crowd to prepare the dish twice now and it makes for an easier preparation. I have served this to guests but love it to have in the fridge to heat up on those mornings you need a quick breakfast to start your day. The recipe is great as it is written but you can toss in other veggies like chopped peppers, onion, and mushrooms. I served with fruit and coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was awesome, even though I do not like cottage cheese. I made as suggested, though I did cook the onions and bacon separately - easier to crumble the bacon after cooking. Very filling, but if there are more than 4 or 5 people to feed strongly suggest making two batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
i use southwestern hashbrowns and omit the onion, also change the bacon to sausage. a big hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States