Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I really liked this casserole, I was anxious to find one that didn't have bread and/or sausage gravy in it. Like some other posters suggested, I used extra eggs and I used turkey sausage rather than pork to lessen the calories a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artbkward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Lafayette, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I have made this recipe numerous time and I still feel this is the best breakfast cassserole. I think the cottage cheese is the key to this recipe. I do make just a couple chages though. Instead of Bacon, I add sausage and chucks of ham...and I don't add the swiss cheese. I just use the cheddar. Everyone loves this recipe. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was a good tasting breakfast casserole. However, with the cost of bacon and various cheeses, I may reserve this for when we have overnight guests. What I do like about this is that you aren't putting a gazillion eggs in it. I would cook it the full time and then let it "set" for 5-10 minutes before serving. I would pair this with fresh fruit (slices of watermelon or cantaloupe would probably be very good with this.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
In short: good but needs tweaking. In full: I had some breakfast sausage that was too salty so I thought I'd try it in this instead of the bacon. Great choice as it mellowed the sausage just right. When I mixed the ingredients it looked really light on the egg so I added 2 more. Good thing I did, it was just right. I had more than enough cheddar so I used 3 1/4 cups instead of using any swiss. Again, very good. I will try it will some Swiss next time, but not as much as it calls for. Lastly, I only used 1/2 an onion and it was very strong (and I like onion). I'll probably use no more than 1/4 c next time. My husband, who doesn't like casseroles, liked it and said to make it again but with less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Made this almost 100% as listed except I used 8 eggs and 3 cups Mexican blend cheese and 1 cup swiss cheese. I did add some salt and pepper, but it could have definitely used more. While I thought this was just "ok", my 16 year old daughter ate quite a bit of it! I think it was missing something though, just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is good, but bland. I added garlic, parsley, salt and pepper. I also left out the cottage cheese. I used sausage instead of bacon, but I did wish that I had crumbled bacon to sprinkle on the top. I bet that would have be tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I've made it several times and I've made several different combinations....although the original recipe is fantastic as is! I usually end up adding 1 1/2 lbs. of meat (any combination of bacon and/or sausage) and I usually add extra cheese....but I love cheese! I usually grate fresh potatoes instead of using frozen but I've made it both ways and it comes out great either way. I also add a bit of salt and fresh ground pepper. These freeze very well and I love having a pan of it sitting in the freezer in case I feel like having comfort food for breakfast or if I want to impress company without spending all morning cooking. It always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I didn't care for this at all. Very strange texture and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Excellent, just the way it was! So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Exellent casserole. Just made it this morning for a Mother's Day brunch. Followed the recipe ingredients exactly as written and didn't change a thing. Everyone had seconds, even the grandkids! I baked it 50 min. Of course, once it was on our plates most of us added Franks hot sauce. We add hot sauce to just about everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States