Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Fantastic recipe! I cook my bacon in the oven but I didn't need to cook my onions (I prefer green onions baked). I like to switch out the cheeses based on what I have in the kitchen. Also like to make them into cupcakes for easy grab and go and for camping trips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I have been using this recipe for about 7 years now. At that time my my kids and hubby loved it! It has now become a requested dish at family gatherings. It is so versatile, you can make it with whatever you have on hand. I have made it with sausage, bacon (my fave), ham, and no meat at all for my newly vegetarian daughter. It's always delicious. At times I've substituted mashed up thawed tater tots if I didn't have hash-browns. I've also made it without the cottage cheese, which is still tasty but better with it. The recipe is pretty good as is. I just always cook my meat first and onion then add it to the rest. I've even recently started making this in muffin pans so we can pull it out during the week for a quick hearty breakfast. My teenagers love it and my mother in law asks me to make it for her church gatherings! Two picky groups of people, lol. It's super easy, cheap ingredients and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is my go to recipe whenever I need to make a breakfast casserole. It is delicious and always pleases any crowd I make it for. It's Christmas morning and here I am again. I don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made this for a breakfast pot luck at work and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made some modifications recommended by other reviewers. I skipped the Swiss cheese, but used a little extra of the cottage and cheddar cheeses and substituted sausage for bacon, for $ reasons, based on this week's grocery prices. The eggs played a minor role in this recipe. It was pretty tasty, and I would definitely make again (with bacon next time!), and keep fiddling around with the recipe. I agree that if this was the main course for people with healthy appetites, this might serve 6, and I might like a side of fresh fruit or sliced tomatoes. If served at a buffet or potluck, I'd cut it to make at least 12 servings, probably more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Make this for family and church family they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is the first dish our Sunday School group devoured entirely. Some had seconds and thirds. Following is how I personalized this: Use 3/4 cup Swiss and 2 1/2 cups cheddar cheese. Add red bell pepper. a small can of mushrooms (drained), 4 big dashes of Tabasco, and 1/16 tsp of Liquid Smoke for extra flavor. Fry / bake the bacon in strips and then crumble. Sauté the onion in a little bit of the grease afterword. Combine ingredients the night before and bake in the morning. Broil the dish briefly after baking to get a nice look. Best dish taken to SS. No “one” ingredient overpowered the others, while making several distinct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I usually assemble this at night and pop in the oven in the morning. Good for our busy family! Great as written. I sometimes add cooked breakfast sausage as well. Our family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
FAMILY LOVES THIS!! Very filling and easy for busy holiday mornings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Perucki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this for extended family that came into town. it was a big hit! I had to feed every palate from kindergarteners to middle-aged. They all LOVED it! great meal for a big crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States