Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I have made this recipe for the last two Christmas Mornings and my family absolutely loves it!!! Thanks for sharing this great recipe - I did add sausage too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkinson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made this for New Years morning breakfast and it was a hit! Also with the kids as leftovers. It's so yummy & perfect with ham/bacon added into the mixture. (I browned up the hashbrowns before adding them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this on New Year's Day and it was delicious! I used turkey sausage links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Perfect easy breakfast for guests! I used sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Mast Troyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Best breakfast casserole ever! I used 8 eggs, sausage, green peppers and monterey jack cheese instead of swiss. I cut back a little on the total amount of cheese. It fed 8 people with plenty of leftovers. This is a great casserole to make ahead and have breakfast for the whole week. It reheats perfectly. I would love this anytime of the day. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious! This was my first breakfast casserole I've ever attempted to make. I took others advice and cooked the bacon in strips and then crumbled and layered the hashbrowns in the bottom of the pan, increased the eggs to 10 and did not add the onion, since my family doesn't like onion. I assembled the night before and cooked it on Christmas morning for about 50 mins. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very nice. I cut the recipe in about half. Plenty for 4 people with second helpings--single, good-sized servings for 6. I didn't have cottage cheese so added an extra egg and about 1/2 cup half-and-half (milk would work fine). Took the advice of another reviewer and added diced sweet red pepper, sauteed with the onion, for extra flavor and color. I also substituted link sausage, cooked and chopped. Thank you for the new breakfast casserole idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was excellent! Everybody enjoyed it. I made it with both bacon and sausage, added a little tomato and bell pepper. Seasoned with salt, pepper & garlic powder. My sister said it was her most favorite breakfast. The kids enjoyed it too. Even the pickest one. I served with slice bananas and a quarter orange. Completed it all with buttermil biscuits. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Eating this as I type! I changed it up. I used 8 slices extra thick bacon, 8 maple sausage links, 1/4 cup small diced ham, 2 cheeks from a green pepper, one cheek from a red pepper and a yellow pepper, 7 eggs and 2 tbls asiago cheese. Everything else I left the same. Diced the peppers and onions. Cooked the bacon in strips and also cooked the sausage in separate pans. Once they were cooked I shredded the bacon and chopped up the sausage and set aside. I then drained some of the bacon fat and cooked the peppers and onions in the same pan that I cooked the bacon. After the veggies were done I added them to the already combined cheeses and potatoes. Then I added the meats and combined all of it. After scrambling the eggs in a bowl I added Paula Deen's House Seasoning to them. Then I poured them into the potatoes and mixed it all up while adding lots of black pepper and a little salt. I also added some of the soft fatty bacon to the top so it would get crispier in the oven. I baked it for 42 minutes until it was still gooey (from the cheese-not the eggs). I think many that feel the dish needs more eggs probably cooked it a little too long and the eggs and cheese got dry. Mine still continued to cook as it sat waiting for it to settle. It was absolutely perfect by the time I cut and served. Next time I plan to use less cheddar because I am not a big cheddar lover in dishes anyway. Next time: american, mozzerella, and Tone's Cajun Seasoning! We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a fabulous breakfast casserole. I used 1 1/2 cups of swiss cheese and the whole container of cottage cheese, which equaled fewer dishes to clean up, and it was delicious. I also cooked the bacon and onion the night before so all I did when I woke up was mix everything and put in oven. My husband loved it and since it's just the two of us there was plenty left over for breakfast for several days. I recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States