Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Just to add a note, about this fantastic bread, 18 TBS is 1 cup + 2 TBS.... 18 TBS is just time consuming. But sure can't beat the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
Fresh out of the bread machine, this bread is absolutely delicious. The only drawback to the recipe, is the measurement for the water. It would be easier if it were converted to the standard measurement of 1 cup and 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
just cut into our loaf from this recipe.. beautiful on the light setting and quite lovely in the crumb. My machine runs two raises and then a proof run so i did not stop it and reset. Used King Aurthur unbleach bread machine flower and corn oil.. no other changes... came out divine. Lots of flavor. If you start out with GOOD flour you get good bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I'm a first time bread maker and this came out great. I bake mine in the oven 350 for 25mins and it is perfect. This makes incredibly yummy grilled cheese sandwiches. Update: hubby gave me a Breadman breadmachine for my bday. I set it to basic loaf on rapid for crust setting. My machine has 3 rise cycles so I take the dough out just as it goes into the 3rd rise and form it in breadpan. Let rise again and bake as above. Done in about 2hrs with no problems. I do use about 3 cups of flour and probably a 1/4 tsp more yeast. I make this about every other day and my daughters hover around the oven waiting for their treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I got this off Allrecipes about four years ago and have been using it ever since. It is perfect. Has become traditional for me to make everyone a loaf at Thanksgiving to have their leftover turkey sandwiches on. I use the easier measurment of 1 cup + 2 tablespoons for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
My bread machine sat unused until I found this recipe. Now my kids tell me to not buy bread at the store anymore. They want me to make this bread. I have also given out loaves to neighbors and those neighbors told other neighbors about how good it was. Great bread recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This bread was what supermarket white breads strive to be. I was surprised at the softness of the crust. Usually I don't care for the crust of bread machine loaves but this one was awesome! My four year old daughter helped my make this so it is definately kid friendly and my eight year old son asked me to make this again instead of buying supermarket bread. I'd say that says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
As soon as I made this loaf, I knew I had to have more, So I spent the day making amish bread! three loaves later and I love it!! High rising and no splitting. Kids love it with peanut butter and jelly. I like it warm with butter. GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is great bread. My new everyday white bread recipe has been found!!! First time I made it the dough was very, very sticky and came out with a weird texture. So, the next time I added one extra tablespoon of bread flour. I mixed it in my bread machine (mine has two rise cycles) and then took it out, kneaded in one tablespoon bread flour and let it do the final rise in my bread pan for 55 minutes. I then baked it at 350 for 25 minutes. This bread is so delicous. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I tried something different with this recipe and it didn't work too well. I did it on the dough cycle and baked it in the oven. I guess I didn't bake it long enough because the center was doughy. I outer pieces had a wonderful flavor. I am trying it again now and will bake it in the bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States