Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I should give it 5 stars as everyone else has, but it didn't rise too well and then it didn't bake too well and overall it was a dud. But I really think it is something I am doing wrong. I could make bread until 2 weeks ago and now nothing will turn out right and not sure what it is. I will give this one another shot, but not today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
AWESOME! I used vegetable oil instead of canola and it turned out fine. The bread turned out so fluffy and moist-- I don't think I'll ever buy sandwich bread from the store ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Good, but my Zojirushi Virtuoso came with a recipe almost identical to this...will stick with that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
It took me two tries to get this bread right. The first time I did not stop my bread machine to get that extra full rise. My machine has a full rise, short rise, & final rise. I thought that would be enough. It was not! My bread came out very doughy. So the second time I followed the recipe and added the extra full rise and it came out perfect! Great white bread. One of the previous reveiwers said it best, "This is what store bought bread strives to be."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is my favorite basic white bread. I use melted butter in place of the oil and milk for the water. This gives a beautiful soft crumb and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a great basic bread recipe. It is very dense and also is much sweeter than most white bread recipes. It is amazing served with soup or stew and even better made into garlic bread. I didn't use a bread machine and it turned out fine. I will make this one again and again, thanks for the excellent recipe. I look forward to making this into sweet rolls as others did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greene, New York, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Nonyas
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I make this on the dough setting in my bread maker, I need to bump the flour up to 3 cups and it is still sticky dough! So when it comes time to punching down and re-shaping for the pan I just make sure to flour my surfaces liberally! You get one large loaf of bread with this if you make it 18 servings you can get two smaller loafs that are perfect in our house. I have made this recipe several times trying butter, oil and coconut oil we prefer coconut oil in this house but each one worked well with the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Nonyas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Unbelievably delicious! It will take all my willpower not to eat the entire loaf. It's got that Hawaiian bread taste. Easy to make, hard to resist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this bread the other day after trying several different white bread recipes. None of the recipes I had tried before were all that impressive, this one was! Me & my husband loved this bread and will continue to make this recipe! Now I can say that I won't be buying bread from the store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States