Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
dough was like batter, very liquid. rose beautifully but sank once the bake cycle started. tasted ok though. will try again but will either add more flour, to make a full 3 c or cut down on water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made this for my husband. This was the first time I've seen him eat all of the bread from a loaf I've made XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Weird taste. Followed recipe to the tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This turned out great and was actually the first bread I have ever made that my husband really liked. He tends to be super picky about bread. I did add some garlic powder and oregano just because I was looking for an Italian herb bread when I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I usually do the regular Amish bread by hand. Got a new bread machine and gave it a try. My loaf was toasted golden brown and the texture was divine ! The loaf was completely eaten by my husband and kids within a half hour ! Thank you for this recipe. I am no longer buying store bought bread. Will try adding a cup of mixed seeds and oats next. Simply superb !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I was really looking forward to trying this bread, especially since I grew up with Amish folks. My family just wasn't fond of this bread. It came out rather bland and too sweet. It might just be a preference issue. We like Italian and French breads, sour doughs and multigrains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
omg the best bread ever. Thanks to all the other users who said the 1 cup 2 T water. Bread is great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
My kids love it. They told me to throw out all my other recipes! I didn't change one thing and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knox City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This is amazingly good bread. I made it as written the first time but I wanted a bit denser texture. Next time I tweaked it a bit & it came out perfectly as I'd envisioned. My changes were: used 1/3 c oil instead of 1/4; scant 3 cups bread flour; 1 tsp salt; and upped the sugar by 2 Tbs. (3/8 c instead of 1/4 c). Probably another significant change was I set my bread machine on the RAPID setting (a shorter rise time) & I also used the Large loaf setting (really wasn't sure if this makes a small or large loaf). The texture of this bread came out so incredible! Firm, moist, yet not underdone in the least with a perfect crust. After baking in the machine, I let it set out overnight (I live in a desert climate); then sliced it with my electric knife the next morning & took it in to work. My co-workers had it gobbled up in no time. Fabulous with honey butter & makes wonderful toast as well. I think I'll be making this bread for a long time to come. I hope to get brave & try a loaf in the oven one of these days. Thank you ShooseyQ for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Really simple and wonderful. Even with all the mistakes I know I made being a first time bread maker it turned out great. Next time without the mistakes I'm sure it will be even more better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States