Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by momwhocooksalot
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
It's just what I was looking for and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Idaho Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
made this with my kitchenaid - combined sugar & warm water, then sprinkled yeast over and let that get bubbly for about 5 minutes. then mixed in rest of the ingredients until a dough formed. switched to dough hook and let the machine knead 5-7 minutes. baked at 350 about 27 minutes. very good and i like the low # of ingredients! i also dont have bread flour left so i use 1 TB vital wheat gluten for every cup of flour. have also used 1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 AP flour, added ground flax seeds, etc. maybe not as authentic-tasting (i'm no expert!), but still delicious and more nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This bread was beautiful, big and fluffy, kept well. It was a bit too sweet for our family though. I'm going to keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyChristine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
very easy, sweet and soft bread. instead of re-setting the breadmaker for a 2nd cycle, after the 2nd kneading, i took the loaf out kneaded the bread very breafly and placed in a bread pan, let rise and baked in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
My no-fail white bread recipe that I make in the bread machine. Turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is my most used bread machine recipe. It calls for simple ingredients that are always on hand, but turns out better than ones you need a whole list of supplies for. Me and my family really love this bread, thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissyLou
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is the perfect bread recipe. I've been baking bread as my new 'hobby' for several months now, experimenting with many recipes, and in the end, if I follow this one exactly (other than I omit the sugar completely since I don't like sweet bread)....it turns out perfectly each time. Make sure you use a good strong bread flour, pure salt, and I even use extra virgin olive oil. Preheat your oven first. Oh, and I don't cover the dough when rising. Since it has an oil coat from the bowl, it doesn't dry out and I don't have to fiddle with oiled cling film or risk my dough deflating. Also, I only bake one of the loaves. I put the dough for the other loaf in an oiled ziploc bag after the kneading process and toss it in the freezer. To bake it, I just pop it out the freezer, put it in the bread pan, and let it rise in warm area. (I brush frozen loaf with oil and don't cover). It takes awhile to defrost and then rise, but it will eventually rise BEAUTIFULLY. Preheat and bake. We haven't bought bread from the baker or grocery store since finding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Worthing, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
YUMMY! I tried adding flax seed to it but it made it sink in the middle. When I made it exactly as recipe says it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is one of the best bread recipes on the site. I use it regularly without any problems. I follow the directions as they are written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
It took me awhile to find recipe that was good - this is it! I sometimes substitute white flour with whole wheat flour, which works just as well. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States