Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by MissyLou
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is the perfect bread recipe. I've been baking bread as my new 'hobby' for several months now, experimenting with many recipes, and in the end, if I follow this one exactly (other than I omit the sugar completely since I don't like sweet bread)....it turns out perfectly each time. Make sure you use a good strong bread flour, pure salt, and I even use extra virgin olive oil. Preheat your oven first. Oh, and I don't cover the dough when rising. Since it has an oil coat from the bowl, it doesn't dry out and I don't have to fiddle with oiled cling film or risk my dough deflating. Also, I only bake one of the loaves. I put the dough for the other loaf in an oiled ziploc bag after the kneading process and toss it in the freezer. To bake it, I just pop it out the freezer, put it in the bread pan, and let it rise in warm area. (I brush frozen loaf with oil and don't cover). It takes awhile to defrost and then rise, but it will eventually rise BEAUTIFULLY. Preheat and bake. We haven't bought bread from the baker or grocery store since finding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Worthing, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
YUMMY! I tried adding flax seed to it but it made it sink in the middle. When I made it exactly as recipe says it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is one of the best bread recipes on the site. I use it regularly without any problems. I follow the directions as they are written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
It took me awhile to find recipe that was good - this is it! I sometimes substitute white flour with whole wheat flour, which works just as well. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was okay. Not great, but not bad. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I made this recipe after my daughter said she had some amish bread that my sister-in-law had made. I can't say I was overly impressed with it. Too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is really the best home made bread recipe EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Oh My! This is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara McCrae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Pretty basic and pretty good, will do again fer sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOEMOMMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordan Tacke
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I just received a bread machine so i have been trying out many different recipes. My boyfriend loved this one. It has a lovely airy texture and a slightly sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Tacke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States