Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Used all whole wheat.....just incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is my go to bread recipe now. I do however take mine out of the bread maker and bake it in the oven at 350 for 35 minutes because it turns out better that way. But this is a great bread that is a touch sweet but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
AWESOME bread! I followed the recipe and I let the dough rise in the machine. I baked it in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes. Came out PERFECTLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a FANTASTIC recipe! I make this at LEAST once a week, sometimes every day! My husband is in the Marine Corps, and when he takes his lunch with him to work, and he pulls out this fresh home made bread, all the guys in his shop are jealous! My bread machine isn't big enough to actually COOK this in, so I put it in as a dough, let it run through one cycle of dough, roll it out on a floured surface, put it in a loaf pan, let it rise again, THEN bake it at 350 for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nachoqtpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe was my very first bread machine recipe! I now make it several times a week. We have replaced buying bread at the grocery store with this recipe. It's sweet which is nice, but maybe not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is the only bread that consistently comes out of my Zojirushi bread machine perfectly - everything else may or may not rise, may or may not be a doorstop. I originally scaled this to 16 servings as my bread machine makes a 2-pound loaf and the recipe makes a 1.5 pound loaf, but that ends up rising out of the top of my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Perfect sandwich bread. Easy to slice and truly delicious. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I tried this recipe as well as the "best bread machine" recipe using my Black & Decker bread machine, program 4 for sandwich, 2lb. The bread for this recipe turned out to be better, it was not as crusty and it was not dry by the next day. With both breads, I placed them in a ziploc bag for storage. I'm still trying to perfect the recipe to my bread machine, I think I need to reduce the time, the crust was too thick for my liking. However, I'm going to stick with this Amish bread, because of its texture and I like how it is a tad sweeter then the other recipe and uses less yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by momwhocooksalot
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
It's just what I was looking for and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Idaho Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
made this with my kitchenaid - combined sugar & warm water, then sprinkled yeast over and let that get bubbly for about 5 minutes. then mixed in rest of the ingredients until a dough formed. switched to dough hook and let the machine knead 5-7 minutes. baked at 350 about 27 minutes. very good and i like the low # of ingredients! i also dont have bread flour left so i use 1 TB vital wheat gluten for every cup of flour. have also used 1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 AP flour, added ground flax seeds, etc. maybe not as authentic-tasting (i'm no expert!), but still delicious and more nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States