Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
not as sweet as I had hoped with so much sugar but still very moist and soft. Baked in my machine on the sandwich setting -- came out perfect. Also seemed to do well on delay timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
What I was able to taste was really good. Unfortunately bread is something I just can't make. I've tried and tried and tried. That's a lot of time to invest in something that just won't work for you. But, the part that cooked well was delicious. Good recipe especially since it's the first one I've made that was partially edible ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Ok, I made some PHENOMENAL changes to this without ever making it as the recipe says to, but holy bread... it was good. I put 1/8 cup maple syrup and 1/4 cup brown sugar in stead of the white sugar and whole milk instead of water. The dough was pretty sticky in the bread machine but I added bread flour a table spoon at a time until it was the right consistency. I'm telling you, this bread was good. Sweet, but very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I love this bread! I followed the directions as written. I am attempting to make all the breads we eat and this has become our white bread sandwich recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cortney McDaniel Moody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I have made this recipe regularly since I first tried it (more than a year ago). This is our regular sandwich bread and also a very popular party bread. I have tried with 1/2 cup wheat flour and use brown sugar, add different herbs (cinnamon and ginger, oregano and thyme, rosemary etc). They are all very popular, both to us and to our guests. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
very good ! very light very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Amazing! I make this bread by hand using the following instructions: 1) Allow the yeast and the sugar to hang out in the warm water for 10 minutes 2) Add all the other ingredients and knead for less than or equal to 15 minutes. Kneading is complete when the dough is no longer sticky and it recoils slightly when you indent it with a finger. 3) Place dough in a greased bowl, cover it with a towel, and let it rise for 1-1.5hrs (I put the bowl in the oven, unheated, b/c my house is cold/drafty) 4) Punch the dough down and knead it for 1 minute 5) Place dough in a greased 9x5 loaf pan, cover with a towel, and let rise for 45 minutes 6) Bake at 350ºF for 25 minutes (crust should sound hollow at the end of baking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
BEST bread machine recipe ever!!! I have been making this for 2 years...everyone either asks me to make it, or asks me for the recipe!! Perfect just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I love this bread! My husband requests it regularly and friends ask me to make it for get togethers. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This bread baked up very nice but honestly I thought the flavor was a bit bland. Just needs something. Thank you though for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura5402

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States