Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Very Good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slapdis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This bread is THE sandwhich bread. It tastes a thousand times better than store-bought bread. It's super soft. I used vegetable oil because that was what I had, but I doubt it made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I LOVE this bread! I was skeptical of the 5 star rating, and had to see for myself. I made this to go with beef stew. My FIL was visiting and couldn't get enough of it. We finished off the loaf that night. He went home with the recipe. :) I have made this several times in the last week and it's addicting. This bread makes a yummy, light bread, suitable for sandwiches. I had to watch my machine though, because it was done 10 min. before my bread machine was, even on a light crust setting. Perfect bread. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I couldn't get this to really rise in my bread machine. I am going to blame it on the machine though, as I couldn't get another loaf to do the same and I used good yeast, but my machine is 7 years old! From what was decent of the loaf it was good with butter and would be great with pb & j or as a breakfast bread. Although, I thought it had a little bit of a sweet bite for a meat and cheese type sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This bread is AWESOME! I don't have a bread machine - I made it the old fashioned way. I did take the tip to use 3 cups bread flour and 1 1/4 tsp of yeast. Kneed for 10 minutes, let rise for 1.5 hours. Punch down and roll out to 8" x 7". Roll bread, tucking seam underneath, let rise for another 30 minutes and bake for 30 minutes. Absolutely wonderful. I have completely stopped buying bread now. I just make a loaf a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I've made this for years now from this site. Whenever I use 3/4 cup water plus 2 tbsp it turns out perfect, when I use 1 cup plus 2 tbsp it's just okay.. don't know why that is but I'll stick with my 3/4 c. water plus 2 tbsp. We like this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I used this recipe to make challah bread for my vegan roommate. I adapted it a little so it would be more similar to the challah I usually make--I substituted honey for sugar and used a combination of whole wheat and white flour. This bread was delicious and moist. Thank you for giving me a vegan alternative to my normal bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made this entirely in my bread maker and it was delicious. I wouldn't change anything as the bread is slightly sweet and a wonderful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Eh - just ok. Rather bland in my opinion. Try the milk bread recipe on this site and you'll be likely to not try the Amish recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
not as sweet as I had hoped with so much sugar but still very moist and soft. Baked in my machine on the sandwich setting -- came out perfect. Also seemed to do well on delay timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States