Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I scaled recipe for 6 servings. As my bread machine can only take 1 1/3 cups of bread flour. I just made this recipe and waiting for the bread to cool a bit. Rose beautifully! I, did, however used 2 1/4 teaspoons of yeast total, ( what my bread machine recommends on breads). Instead of canola oil, used vegetable oil. RESULTS:DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! This recipe is a KEEPER, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Absolutely fantastic bread. I'm not much of a bread person, but I could eat a whole loaf myself. This bread is now my go to recipe and my husband and daughter get so excited every time they see the bread machine out! It's so soft in the inside and has a crisp, flaky crust on the outside. It is a sweet bread, but not too sweet. I make mine to go with homemade soups. It's my favorite bread ever! My family of 3 can eat it in one sitting and fight over the last piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I love this bread but found the recipe needs more salt and sugar. My first loaf without was very bland. After tweaking it a bit the bread tasted fantastic. Makes for DELICIOUS french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I love this recipe. I prepared it as per the recipe substituting vegetable oil for canola and used bread flour. It has a wonderful texture and taste. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I have no idea what went wrong with mine. Followed the directions exactly. After the first kneading it looked pretty soupy, but after the second kneading the consistency was fine. The end product was short and thick, despite using new yeast. Will try again another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This bread doesn't last long in my house, and there is only two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My go to bread recipe! My son has food allergies and because soy is on the list I have to make bread for him. I have this recipe memorized and make it at least weekly! Sometimes I use 3 cups bread flour instead of 2 3/4 but either way....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent! I followed this recipe exactly and it was perfect, and yummy! My family can't wait for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Very Good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slapdis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This bread is THE sandwhich bread. It tastes a thousand times better than store-bought bread. It's super soft. I used vegetable oil because that was what I had, but I doubt it made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States