Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
SO good! My fiance and I will probably never have store bought bread again. So easy, and so yummy. We love this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
With Westbend bread maker need to put in 1hr bread for 32min unplug plug back and go with Basic Large 1.5lb EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John F Torbett Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The texture of this bread was fantastic. The crust was flaky too. It was not dense but fluffy. The flavor was good too. Thank you for a nice change. I used grapeseed oil instead of canola. Thanks to the reviewers who gave the tip about the water amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
followed the recipe, turned it out from the bread pan and watched it explode on the counter. NEVER again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brujah42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Softest bread machine bread I've ever made. I even used regular all purpose flour and vegetable oil. Sooo soft!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindylouwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Missouri, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Finally! After a few years of making bread here and there, I have a recipe that mimics the density of store bought bread that I can make at home. I don't have a bread machine so I made as is with the exception of subbing all of the water with whey. The dough was rather sticky so I oiled my hands and surface to knead. After the first rising, I continued to knead the dough. I allowed it to rise in my loaf pan until it reached the top edge (60-90 minutes). Baked at 350 for 30 minutes. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe as directed, but, I did not have to reset the bread machine as the bread machine that I own has two rise cycles. I was skeptical that it would rise enough to make a decent loaf of bread because it looked really wimpy after the first rise cycle. I was totally wrong about how it would turn out; it rose and baked beautifully. The texture is soft and dense without the little pockets of air that I get from baking bread in the machine. The flavor is wonderful. I like that it doesn't have eggs or milk in it either. I am excited to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is the bread recipe I have been looking for! A simple 5 ingredient bread that comes out perfect in my little bread machine. I have tried many other recipes, including the one that came with my bread machine, and always get a dry bread. This bread is moist, with a wonderful crust that melts in your mouth. The extra step of resetting your machine to start, giving it an extra rise, really makes this bread a notch above. I set my machine for 1 1/2 lbs, as the recipe states, but actually get a larger loaf. I make a loaf about every other day. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Bread turned out way too sweet and not done all the way. I turned my machine on light crust and 1.5 lb. loaf. I would defiantly put less sugar in the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I love to make soups and this is by far the best Potato soup yet. I did substitute 1 of the cups of milk with whipping cream to create a thicker creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States