Amish Bob And Andy Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
I loved this pie so much. It's light, custardy and spicy. Absolutely fantastic! Very very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Loved the pie, definitely reminds me of pecan pie without the pecans. Fits in a 9-inch pie crust, almost perfectly. I put the pie crust in another larger pan, while filling the crust and until the pie started to firm, otherwise it is hard to get it in the oven, without spilling. Thanks for the recipe, our family of 5, thought it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I have a version of this pie that has been handed down through our family, very similar, but ours is called Bob Andy pie. Very good recipe but it does almost take an hour to bake. And, no, it is not CHESS PIE by no means. One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnghorse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wadesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
My 93 year old mother-in-law grew up in rural Indiana. She lately started to talk about this pie, which I had never heard of. I used this recipe and she just loved it. Apparently it was very much like what she remembered eating 75+years ago. Thank you so much for posting this old recipe. It made her so happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This come out pretty good, but I did make some adjustments. It's very similar to my chess pie recipe and I knew that the 45 minutes wouldn't be enough time in the oven, so I lowered the oven to 300 and cooked it for 1 1/2 hours, the way my chess pie is done, and it came out beautifully. A 9" deep dish pie crust held it all nicely. For those who have had a problem with spilling the filling on the way to the oven; put the crust on a cookie sheet, set it on the oven rack and then pour the filling in, slide the rackin carefully. This prevents spills and catches any cook-over mess in the oven. This pie was very good, but I won't make it again. The taste is very, very close to a pumpkin pie - and I don't like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I had never made any kind of custard pie but was looking to try one. This pie is so different to anything i have ever had, it took much longer to cook than the directions given, the filling was liquid when put in the oven but then gets thicker and thicker until its a nice firm custard. I will definitly make it again, all my friends loved it because it was so different !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I liked this pie. I had all the ingredients even though it was 3 days before grocery day. Baked it 15 minutes longer than advised. Great taste. Took it to church social. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This recipe is somewhat similar to Transparent Pie, a popular pie in Northeastern KY. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This pie was OK. Nothing to rave about. Basically a custard pie,with a crunchy topwith a cinnamonish flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
This is not CHESS PIE. Or maybe it is.. Chess custard pie. This is the worst example of a chess pie i've ever seen. It's just terrible. It takes two pie crust to use all of the ingredients, and those need to be DEEP DISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States