America's Best Buffet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tecknik
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This can be an excellent dish if a few things are changed. I've also submitted a photo which should be up once it's approved. I use a buffet 1/2 tray.. 2 boxes of potatoes but only one of the cheese mix packets. Discard the other one. Use about 3 cups of milk... I use about 1/4 of the package of the coctail weiners.. just layer them once on top of the potatoes.. don't use as much ham either. I add a little garlic, too. I also use 2 cans of the french fried onions.. add extra cheese.. Bake a little longer since you are using 2 boxes of potatoes.. Be sure and taste your potatoe to make sure it is cooked all the way. I've made this dish about a dozen times and it's always the first to go on a buffet line. Well worth the FAT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I decided to try this, as I liked all of the ingredients, and it had recieved mostly good reviews,however I was very disappointed. It LOOKED & SMELLED really good, but it was extremely salty (and I like salty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Definitely not America's Best Buffet Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I served this on a buffet line next to 5 other dishes. I got so many compliments on this dish and it was the first to go although I did not follow the recipe exactly. First, it doesn't state weather you use the cheese that comes in the box of potatoes. I used 2 boxes of potatoes and one package of the cheese which I mixed with one can of cream of mushroom, 2 cups of milk, 1/4 cup butter. I then only used 8oz of the coctail franks. I followed the rest of the recipe. I used a buffet half tray to bake it in. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
A very bad dish. It tastes like processed food, very salty, yet has no taste. Dont waste the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I followed the directions exactly. It was an OK casserole. It needed more flavor. My husband took it to his company buffet table, people thought it was alright, but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
No one in the family cared for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
My family LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I had to try this recipe because some said it was good and some say it wasn't. To me this was average. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this for my boyfriend with a few tweaks. The boxes of potatos I had were smaller sized, so I pretty much doubled up the recipie, but i only had one can of cream of mushroom so used some cheddar cheese soup. It was so creamy and cheesy! I left out the mushroom as he doesn't like them and he suggested adding in another veggie next time like green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States