American-Style Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This went over great in my house! I added a chopped onion and a few cloves of garlic. The kids loved it! Fast.. quick and easy.. Winners in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This was amazingly wonderful! I run a daycare in Massachusetts and thought that the kids would think it to be a little too weird, but they all loved it (except my son, who does not like rice, not the recipe's fault, LOL)! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Loved it! A big hit with my husband and friends. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe..I've tried Zatterans from the store but it is too salty..This is perfect. my husband likes it and asks for it frequently..and my kids even like it. Great job LAURENB222!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I LOVE these beans! I've made them a few times and it is the quickest, easiest recipe, and it's great to take to work the next day. I also did not put any seasoning into the rice, and I cannot find Adobo anywhere so I found a recipe online to make your own: 1 TBS oregano, 2 TBS garlic powder, 2 TBS onion powder, and 1/5 TBS cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was really good and very easy. I used tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. I also used less than half the amount of adobo. Everything else was exact. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EGGIWEG
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Easy and tasty. This would make a good quick lunch. I made a few small changes: used fresh herbs instead of dried and doubled their measurements, and used a 1/4 tsp of cumin seeds instead of the adobo seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Good recipe - go easy on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
A nice alternative to louisiana style beans and rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was an easy and fairly tasty recipe. Personally I really didn't think it was that wonderful but my husband thought it was awesome! The sauce was very runny so I added cut up cubes of butter to thicken it up. Give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States