American-Style Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I LOVE these beans! I've made them a few times and it is the quickest, easiest recipe, and it's great to take to work the next day. I also did not put any seasoning into the rice, and I cannot find Adobo anywhere so I found a recipe online to make your own: 1 TBS oregano, 2 TBS garlic powder, 2 TBS onion powder, and 1/5 TBS cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Fast and easy but awful. Way too much adobo too salty. I had to add anothe can of beans for it to feed 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This went over great in my house! I added a chopped onion and a few cloves of garlic. The kids loved it! Fast.. quick and easy.. Winners in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Pretty good and really fast and easy. Reminded me of meatless chili. I added a little bit of ground red pepper for a little more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This was amazingly wonderful! I run a daycare in Massachusetts and thought that the kids would think it to be a little too weird, but they all loved it (except my son, who does not like rice, not the recipe's fault, LOL)! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Loved it! A big hit with my husband and friends. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Don't use the oregano, basil or thyme or olive oil. This isn't an Italian dish! I tried it your way and my mouth was confused! Getting snowed in can be sooo frustrating. Next time, use bacon grease or peanut oil and ground chiles..or chopped fresh chiles .. use garlic fresh or dried, salt, and LOTS of dried cumin. ( Cumin is what gives Mexican foods their "Mexicaness" ) God bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I have made this recipe several times, and really liked it. BUT yesterday was the first time I used the adobo seasoning. This really killed it for me. The previous reviewer suggested leaving out all the "italian" seasonings because their mouth was confused. I have to agree that with ALL ingredients, I didn't like it as much. My 4 yr old gobbled it up, as is...but my husband and I did not enjoy it. It is an easy recipe. When I first found this, I was looking for some sort of beans and rice recipe that was not like black beans and rice (something different?). Without the adobo, it's like spaghetti sauce with beans and we liked it quite a bit. By the way, I did drain and rinse my beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
The sauce was a bit runny, but it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This is a great dish! I made an oops though. I had to double it because we have 8 people in the family. I didn't realize that Adobo is primarily salt. I added double the amount of Adobo and it was too salty. Fortunately, I did not add any salt to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRACEHHOPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States