American-Style Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This was amazingly wonderful! I run a daycare in Massachusetts and thought that the kids would think it to be a little too weird, but they all loved it (except my son, who does not like rice, not the recipe's fault, LOL)! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
The sauce was a bit runny, but it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Fast and easy but awful. Way too much adobo too salty. I had to add anothe can of beans for it to feed 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Loved it! A big hit with my husband and friends. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Pretty good and really fast and easy. Reminded me of meatless chili. I added a little bit of ground red pepper for a little more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This went over great in my house! I added a chopped onion and a few cloves of garlic. The kids loved it! Fast.. quick and easy.. Winners in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Quite good, probably 3.5 stars. I did not have quite enough tomato sauce and I added extra beans. I did not drain the beans; unsure if I was supposed to or not. The rice took a bit longer than the 20 minutes to dry out, you may not need all 4 cups water. Nice and not soo spicy - unless you get a clump of adobo! WAY too much for 4 people, imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I didn't have adobo. I used Pace Enchilada Sauce instead of tomato sauce. Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This is a great dish! I made an oops though. I had to double it because we have 8 people in the family. I didn't realize that Adobo is primarily salt. I added double the amount of Adobo and it was too salty. Fortunately, I did not add any salt to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRACEHHOPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I really liked this...a nice, no-frills red beans & rice side dish. Good flavor, didn't compete with main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States