American-Style Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I have made this recipe several times, and really liked it. BUT yesterday was the first time I used the adobo seasoning. This really killed it for me. The previous reviewer suggested leaving out all the "italian" seasonings because their mouth was confused. I have to agree that with ALL ingredients, I didn't like it as much. My 4 yr old gobbled it up, as is...but my husband and I did not enjoy it. It is an easy recipe. When I first found this, I was looking for some sort of beans and rice recipe that was not like black beans and rice (something different?). Without the adobo, it's like spaghetti sauce with beans and we liked it quite a bit. By the way, I did drain and rinse my beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Don't use the oregano, basil or thyme or olive oil. This isn't an Italian dish! I tried it your way and my mouth was confused! Getting snowed in can be sooo frustrating. Next time, use bacon grease or peanut oil and ground chiles..or chopped fresh chiles .. use garlic fresh or dried, salt, and LOTS of dried cumin. ( Cumin is what gives Mexican foods their "Mexicaness" ) God bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Just out of curiosity, am I supposed to drain the beans, or leave the juice? I left the juice, my picky 2-yr. old loved it, and it was much better than my stepmoms(attempt at) spanish rice! she is sooo jelous... and I couldn't be happier!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EGGIWEG
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Easy and tasty. This would make a good quick lunch. I made a few small changes: used fresh herbs instead of dried and doubled their measurements, and used a 1/4 tsp of cumin seeds instead of the adobo seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Good recipe - go easy on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Nice flavor. I followed a tip from a previous review to make my own adobo seasoning. Sauce was a bit runny for me, though - and too much tomato flavor. I like thick Cajun style red beans and rice better. I would eat this again, as it was EASY to make... but the kids hardly touched it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I LOVE these beans! I've made them a few times and it is the quickest, easiest recipe, and it's great to take to work the next day. I also did not put any seasoning into the rice, and I cannot find Adobo anywhere so I found a recipe online to make your own: 1 TBS oregano, 2 TBS garlic powder, 2 TBS onion powder, and 1/5 TBS cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
We really liked this one. I omitted the additional adobo in the rice, but that was the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I wasn't sure if I was to drain the beans. I used "chipolte" seasoning. Four teaspoons rendered it almost too spicy to eat. I'm think it would be good with 2 tsp. Is chipolte seasoning and adobo seasoing different? Will still make it again as it's super quick and no chopping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
this was a great recipe, it went over really well with my son who hates beans but loves rice (!?!). I added some left over hummus to the sauce and used brown rice instead of the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States