American-Style Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
was easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I wasnt too crazy about the flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Capizano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Fast and easy, will likely make this again sometime. It had ´too much tomato flavor for my tastes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lavia, Satakunta, Finland
Living In: Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was pretty good. It was nice to have a beans & rice recipe that's DIFFERENT from all the others! I cooked brown rice instead of white to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dinwiddie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I thought it was ok but my wife did not care for at all. Too soupy and not a great taste for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
i like it alot yumm ! So do my nieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Made a good quick and easy meal. Didn't have red beans so used blackeye peas instead. When making this dish didn't seem like it was going to be good but came out very good, I recommend you try it with blackeye peas very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This was pretty good. I thought it needed a little more heat so I added Tabasco. It was also very easy to prepare. I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I have made this recipe several times, and really liked it. BUT yesterday was the first time I used the adobo seasoning. This really killed it for me. The previous reviewer suggested leaving out all the "italian" seasonings because their mouth was confused. I have to agree that with ALL ingredients, I didn't like it as much. My 4 yr old gobbled it up, as is...but my husband and I did not enjoy it. It is an easy recipe. When I first found this, I was looking for some sort of beans and rice recipe that was not like black beans and rice (something different?). Without the adobo, it's like spaghetti sauce with beans and we liked it quite a bit. By the way, I did drain and rinse my beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Don't use the oregano, basil or thyme or olive oil. This isn't an Italian dish! I tried it your way and my mouth was confused! Getting snowed in can be sooo frustrating. Next time, use bacon grease or peanut oil and ground chiles..or chopped fresh chiles .. use garlic fresh or dried, salt, and LOTS of dried cumin. ( Cumin is what gives Mexican foods their "Mexicaness" ) God bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States